We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Newton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Newton to your Saves list
Hotel Newton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Everyone at the reception desk was incredibly helpful - they went out of their way to help us, printing concert tickets we emailed them, helping us plan our next journey, and even assisting us after we had left the hotel. The rooms are clean and well located for transport. It's a great hotel for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased that our staff helped you with all that you needed. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    524
    156
    47
    35
See reviews for
250
300
86
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great hotel for the price we paid. Short subway ride away from all the main attractions. clean & tidy & all the staff are friendley. we never ate at the hotel but there is a fantastic deli a few doors down where we had breakfast every morning. When we go back to new york we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your comments and will hold you to your comments of coming back to us! Thank you so much

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was lovely. Staff were really helpful, courteous and kind. Our apartment company let us down and we came to stay here at the hotel Newton. Kari, Jan and Emilio were amazing. They made us feel at home. They went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. Emilio even took up the challenge of getting our cheque back from the letting agency. He succeeded!! We are so grateful for everything they done for us. We couldn't have picked a better hotel. The rooms were really clean. There's even a microwave and fridge in them. Very handy. I would definitely recommend the hotel Newton to anyone. And will be staying there on my next trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Just returned from 8 days at the Hotel Newton. We had a junior queen suite, which was very spacious for New York. The hotel was very clean. It was the only budget hotel I've stayed in in New York where the hot water temperature stayed steady and the pressure was good, even on the seventh floor. The AC was a bit loud, but actually cancelled any other noise, so we slept very well. Our refrigerator had a problem, but within an hour the staff replaced it with one that worked well. I was impressed with the speed of their service. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful. There is a subway across the street, so transportation is great. The only suggestion I have is for the hotel to offer free wi-fi, but the Manhattan Diner next store offers it. I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in New York.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent review and I am so happy that the staff fixed all issues quickly! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a well reviewed hotel so let me just get right to it and add in my own personal comments and views.

I booked this hotel direct to negotiate a good rate, closer to the day I asked for an upgrade and got one…good result!

Our suite was a good size for New York and came with all the advertised amenities. I would have liked proper cups and a few plates and cutlery as there was none.

Toiletries were of good standard and the bed was very comfortable indeed. My wife is a housekeeper within a large university and is an expert at “the white glove test”…the hotel room passed with flying colours as it was so clean it just squeaked.

Location – it may look a little out of the way on a map but in fact it’s on the No3 express line so you can get downtown in only one or two stops. This is a plus to me. In fact the subway station right outside offered fast links all the way to the bottom of Manhattan and the ferries, along with the 9/11 memorial. We just bout a $29 dollar pass and used it everyday. Road traffic is a nightmare so don’t bother with Taxis.

Immediately outside the hotel is a wide selection of cafes, restaurants shops and other things to keep you interested if you want to go out for a walk. A weird but great pizza place is across the road next to the subway entrance with just the best calzone pizzas.

Riverside Park and Central Park are just a short walk away from the hotel.

Yes, the air-conditioning unit is loud but that’s what you get in NY. And we were so tired we didn’t notice it much anyway. Turn it down and it's ok.

It’s worth noting that pretty much all of the staff were noticeably warm and friendly to us.

The hotel offers a free safe deposit box which was very nice. A charge is made for wifi (which I felt was too much) so if you need it just pop out to any of the cafes (Starbucks is just across the street) for a free connection.

When we go back to NY I would happily stay here again.

By the way, I looked at The Days Inn Hotel just around the corner when I was there as it was on my original list of places to stay…glad we didn’t go there, what a dive.

New York Marathon tip – if you are running the marathon then this hotel would be a great base. From the hotel it’s 10 minutes on the express line to the Statton Island Ferry to the start and the end in Central Park is only 5-10 minutes short walk away.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
I couldn't have reviewed our property any better! We hope to see you again and you are correct regarding the marathon as we are very close to the action

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We came to NYC to attend a function at Columbia University, which is just two subway stops away from The Hotel Newton. What a wonderful staff, from the moment we checked in until we left Monday morning. Twice I called the hotel prior to our arrival with a question. Each time I spoke with the manager, Emilio. He could not have been nicer or more helpful. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with the happy news that we had been upgraded to a suite with a roomy bathroom and 2 queen beds. Service was very prompt when we needed more towels, and helpful and polite with directions and suggestions. Overall, we were quite pleased and will most certainly stay here again when we return to NYC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property and hope to see you many more times to come!

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wasilla, Alaska
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Staff is very friendly, hotel manager,Emilio, was great. He upgraded us to a double queen corner room with windows. The room was clean, good value for the money, and quiet. The hotel is near the subway and twenty minutes from the Yankees games, so we loved it. It is located in Upper West side, with good food near. We ate at "Smoke" the last night which is a dinner and blues club. It was wonderful. We will recommend The Hotel Newton to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MILO928, Manager at Hotel Newton, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. I always say that the best part of staying in this area are the great local restaurants! no tourist traps with mediocre food, but good local New York Cuisine. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Emilio Morales Jr.
Director of Reservations and Revenue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Newton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Newton

Address: 2528 Broadway, Upper West Side of Manhattan, New York City, NY 10025
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Newton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive Nine-story Hotel located on the Upper West Side, convenient to Columbia University, theaters, museums & shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Newton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Newton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.