We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value for money for NY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Save Saved
You added Broadway at Times Square Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   129 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 452 hotels in New York City
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good location and value for money for NY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in April. The location of this hotel is amazing, so close to Times Square yet you hear none of the noise. The staff on the front desk were always pleasant and helpful, the room and bathrooms were always clean, although small, and the free breakfast more than adequate to begin the day.

The main negative for us was the room seemed very stuffy, even after putting the air on and there were signs saying not to open any windows. Also the only elevator was very slow at times and we would usually be happy to take the stairs except we were on the 7th floor!

Otherwise this hotel was very good value for money for New York and I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    560
    612
    141
    31
    25
See reviews for
218
536
97
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stay on business and the hotel has a new and beautiful breakfast room, exercise room, lobby, and elevators! What a wonderful upgrade for a hotel in the Times Square area! Near all New York sights as it is in Midtown

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Room: Small but efficient use of space. Clean. Decently decorated. Bed was comfortable and good night sleep was had.

Other areas of the hotel: Reception and cafeteria areas were modern, sleek and minimal. Hallway of the second floor we stayed was surprisingly narrow and short. We heard people talking down the hallway while we were in the room but we weren't too bothered as they weren't loud. Workout room was very small (two running machines fit tightly).

Staff: Friendly and casual.

Breakfast: Self-serve with one helpful attendant refilling items (and to watch us behave). Plenty of bagels, breads, donuts, cereals, boiled eggs, orange & apple juice, yogurts, coffee, tea, bananas and oranges.

Overall: We were happy to sleep there after a long full day. We'll probably return for a last minute theater visit. The price was on higher end for us ($255 queen size bed), but we understood that we were paying for the premium location. We were able to make the best of our short 30 hour visit.

About the street: There was a church next door to the hotel which held a fantastic free recital on Saturday we arrived. The street got a little sketchy in the evening (11pm) as we walked back to the hotel but felt safe enough walking by as a pair.

Extra info-1: You may feel a little cramped if you were looking to spend some time to relax in the room. It's a good place for a good night sleep after a busy day in town and a breakfast to get you started the following morning.

Extra info-2: We booked through booking.com which gave us $10 off. We called the hotel to confirm our reservation just to make sure as we read some iffy reviews about booking.com. We did not have any problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you want a large lobby, large rooms, high prices then don't book here. The rooms are well appointed, clean, modern but not large. Included in the price is a good continental breakfast (cereal, juice, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, bread, bagels, fruit, yogurt etc), free wifi, free use of two macs, fitness room (three machines but not much else) and reduced parking across the street. We've been to NYC many times and we generally book at one of the Applecore properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

You can't find a hotel closer to Times Square for the price. If you're not planning to stay in your (rather small-ish) room for any amount of time, this is the best place for your money.

We were in room 205, near the elevator with one queen bed. We thought the location of the room might be noisy near the elevator (no) and being so close to the business of NYC (not at all). The room was tastefully decorated and a 36" flat screen was on the dresser at the foot of our bed. Not much space around the bed but we weren't in the room much. The bathroom was carefully laid out to maximize such a small space (just a shower, no bath tub) and was quite clean. May need to ask for more towels - barely enough for two people.

The lobby is modern, the breakfast area is large, with tvs and comfortable seating. Morning breakfast was vast and plentiful (bagels, toast, cereal, juices, coffee, doughnuts, fresh fruit, boiled eggs), though the lay-out causes bottlenecks with many eager tourists trying to eat and run. Seemed to be a popular place for foreigners - not much english being spoken the morning we were there but a nice diverse crowd.

The hotel gladly held our luggage for the day after we checked out and the staff was quite friendly. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in the end of April. The localization is very nice, is near by of almost attractions of NYC. The personal assistation was very good.
The dimension of the rooms can be better but for stay 5 nights is quite sufficient .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights alone.
Perfect location next to Times Square.

Renovation works are finished now. The breakfast room has changed, is now Very modern with enough places available.
Also the front desk and gym room are modernised in a positive way.

I would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broadway at Times Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway at Times Square Hotel

Address: 129 West 46th Street, New York City, NY 10036 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Broadway at Times Square Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Broadway at Times Square Hotel offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, flat screen TVs, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Broadway at Times Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Times Square
New York City Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn Midtown New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broadway at Times Square Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.