We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfied” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Satisfied”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Our room was spacious and well-maintained, the rate was appealing, the location was ideal for our needs. I didn't find the desk staff particularly warm but can live with that. If you don't arrive expecting The Plaza and you're in the market for decent accommodations, you'll likely come away satisfied. Chelsea's a great location in Manhattan.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    179
    61
    22
    18
See reviews for
82
74
35
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Truly great budget hotel in a wonderful area of New York City, I could not stop racing about this place when I got back to London. For the best deal book directly with the hotel trough their website. This is the best deal you'll get on a hotel in this part of New York, the breakfast was not great - choose cereal or sugary oily pastries - but the rooms were extremely clean with good (although loud) ac unit and large tv. Bath/shower was particularly good and lots of space for all items.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have mixed reviews about this property. I live in NYC but had family in town that couldn't stay at my apartment. First, the location of this hotel is outstanding and this is one of the best selling factors. The hotel is located on the corner of 7th Ave & 23rd Street in the heart of Chelsea. Right outside your door is a subway station, there are tons of shops and restaurants within walking distance and you are not secluded in the middle of some quiet industrial block. The hotel is clean including the rooms. We had a corner room on the second floor that was large with two double beds and a great view. Brand new TV and updated bathroom. There is a continental breakfast with muffins, bagels, croissants, tea, coffee, etc. Not the best breakfast but I have had far worse. If that doesn't do it, there are plenty of options within walking distance.

The downside, this is the 21st century in NYC - the hotel claims to have Wi-Fi, which technically they do but it barely worked. Some of the phones would connect but not tablets or laptops. Completely useless. I would've paid for a solid Wi-Fi connection. With that in mind, since there was limited Wi-Fi, it would be nice if they had more than roughly 15 channels of TV playing on the brand new TVs they put in the room.

The staff is not the friendliest. I was told the Wi-Fi was not working possibly due to the weather - I didn't lose my internet access in NYC during a hurricane. Then I was told flat out that they had a poor connection.

This was 4th of July weekend and the prices were reasonable when booked via Expedia. I called the hotel directly to see if they would beat the price (there was a $10 difference) and they said no. So I kept with my Expedia reservation.

With all this mind, if any of these concerns are troubling including the Wi-Fi, you can easily find comparable rates at a number of newer chain hotels in Chelsea like the Hampton Inn or Four Points by Sheraton.

Room Tip: If you can take some outside noise, ask for a room that faces the street, especially a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We liked the location - only 8 blocks from Penn Station. Room was adequately sized for 3 people. Carpet was not very clean but we had no complaints with the cleanliness of the rest of the room or the bathroom. Staff were helpful, breakfast was OK. I saw a suggestion to go directly to the hotel web site for a better deal and that's what I did. I saved some money by booking my stay with the hotel. We found a nice diner up the street and another nice restaurant a few blocks away.
We also liked that it was convenient to the High Line (an awesome park). I can recommend this hotel for anyone not wanting to spend a lot of money.

Room Tip: we were on the 6th floor in the back. No noise issues at all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamondhead, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Chelsea Savoy 3 times now. The rooms are very clean and neet. Internet is not secure, but that's ok. They have a tech to assit with questions. We love the location is great and the price is less than half of the rates uptown. The staff is very cordial and accomodatiing. The Chelsea area has several excellent reataurants, El Quijote in particular right next door. Great bar and "authentic" Spanish cuisine. Whole foods is around the corner. Chelsea is a thriving residential-commercial area. Plenty of taxis with a 10 minute ride to the theater district.

Room Tip: Interior rooms not facing 23rd street are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Chelsea Savoy Hotel is clean, reasonable, and conveniently located. Forget the breakfast they offer - it doesn't show up in time for early meetings and it's not really worth waiting for. Instead go across the street and up one block - there's a great little diner where literally everyone knows everyone - GREAT FUN! And around the corner, there's a really nice little wine bar!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, WV
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My daughter and I have stayed here on two separate occasions. Very convenient, close to the subway and other sites. Clean and the location is quiet. The continental breakfast could be a little better, but I suggest you save your appetite for other eateries in NY. I plan to stay here every time I visit the city.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room in the front of the hotel if you would like to people-watch those out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Address: 204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #312 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.