We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for double beds, great location, and a place to sleep and get ready without the high price? Chelsea Savoy is the one!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #313 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Oakland, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Looking for double beds, great location, and a place to sleep and get ready without the high price? Chelsea Savoy is the one!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Found out not too many hotels that are reasonably priced in New York offer two double beds. Thankfully we came across Chelsea Savoy! Great prices for 4 people...trust me! It's a great location too...several blocks (like 20) up you can walk to Times Square (lots of stuff on the way up), 1 block from Avenues of the Americas with tons of shopping and eating. Walking distance to madison square park and Shake Shack! The subway are located literally around the corner outside the hotel either at 7th or 8th ave. there's a few bars around the area and walking distance to restaurants.

To be honest we only used the hotel to get ready in and sleep. With so much to do in NY there was no point staying in the room. Front desk was very nice-always saying hi and bye when we walk in and out. When we first arrived, we were several hours before check in but they allowed us to leave all our bags with them so we can start to explore.

Not really a view, but I wasn't there for that. Two beds, clean room, cozy for 4 adults. Flat tv ad lots of plug in outlets (ESP for girls!) bathroom was a good size--only problem is out tub was a little clogged ad took some time to drain, but we didn't mind.

Great housekeeping!!! SO nice! We alway left late in the morning because we came from west coast time. Even if they were done doing their rounds, they would come back to check on us of we needed the room clean. Always gave us extra towels (the best!) and room was tidy everytime we came back. Lots of drawer space and closet. Not a fancy hotel but great for its purpose and great staff! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    186
    64
    22
    18
See reviews for
84
74
37
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Claremont, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was our first time staying at the ChelseaSavoy Hotel. I took a group of 9 ladies to NYC for a shopping, sight seeing long weekend. The hotel was fantastic, clean, quite and all around perfect for us. The people at the front desk were attentive and nice. The breakfast was small but so very good. The coffee was excellent. They serve donuts, bagels and other pastry. They are not the fanciest place to stay, but I will sure stay again.

Room Tip: The number 1 Train is right out side the hotel, the High Line is only 2 long blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed at the Chelsea Savoy every year for about 7 years. In the heart of Chelsea, there is a lot to do within walking distance, centrally located between 2 subway lines and a great "home base" at a great price point. The hotel/rooms are clean with daily coffee/bagels in the lobby each morning. You will see some comments about "traffic noise" - it is New York City afterall - that is part of the mystique. For the most part, the hotel staff is friendly and helpful (they always remember us when we book). If you are looking for a luxury "resort" experience - this is not the place for you. BUT if you are looking for a clean hotel, with easy access to the City - this is a great location and value and would recommend the Chelsea Savoy.

And if you are looking for something fun - the "Trailer Park" is located across the street. This kitchy restaurant/bar is decorated with retro pieces from bowling allies, trailer parks and truck stops. Serving burgers, sweet potato fries and a pitchers (or margarita - what bring us back again and again), the Trailer Park our Happy Hour location daily and is a part of our annual "Chelsea Savoy experience"

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WANTAGH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Whenever I have to stay overnight or 2 nights in Manhattan this hotel is my go-to. It's reasonable compared to most- has a convenient location to whatever I have planned, it's is clean, and it's in a great neighborhood!! It is small but not as tiny as boutique hotels and I've always had a pleasant stay- just remember to ask NOT to get a room on the street side as it can get pretty noisy@

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights (9-12 November) and found that the quality of both the room and the service is over-rated, as compared to cheaper rates in other hotels. I paid $216 a night + tax for a room with a double bed, and my friend was staying in a similar room close to Union square for half that price. Next time, I'll stay at that hotel.
1) Staff is typically unfriendly, as other guests have noted on this forum. I am starting to believe that they are paid to be rough and unhelpful to customers.

2) More importantly, there may be a serious problem with honesty in this hotel.
2.1) I had book parcels sent to me, and I never got one of them, officially "never received", but the sender has shown me the USPS slip.
2.2) on the day I was leaving, I went down to eat breakfast at 8 am, by the time I was back up in the room, the maid had done the room and .. my face cream (an expensive fancy one from a famous luxurious French brand), was missing from my beauty case. Hmm, i'll give it a doubt, one never knows, but I am 80% convinced the maid stole the cream. I asked the front desk immediately, but they said the maid was ... out (?!) and I had to call back the next day. And of course the next day... the maid, called Marisa, or Marianna, I don't remember clearly, said she never found anything
2.3) it just so happens that as I went downstairs for the check out, another lady guest reported that her purse, with all credit cards etc. had gone missing from her room after the maid had come in.
THAT WAS A BIT MUCH !!!!!
I don't know the end to that story, but i suspect there is a problem with honesty in this hotel.

Keep you bucks and find yourself a beter place for that price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel has a split personality: Plus = The rooms were clean; the price (in late October) was reasonable; the housekeeping staff was pleasant; and the location was fine. Negative = The front-desk staff seemed oblivious to us, for five days. And small amenities that most travelers take for granted were nonexistent. Examples: (1.) The day before we left, we asked (twice) if they could run off a boarding pass, on one of their two computer-printers, sitting three foot away. We were told, by two different clerks, to go to FedEx, up the street, (2.) We asked the front desk, twice, if they had a newspaper we could just look at, for starting times for a play. We were told, twice, to go up the street and buy a paper. We can't really recommend this place ... unless you're desperate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was here during Sandy. The situation was really crummy all over lower Manhattan. The staff worked tirelessly to make us as comfortable as they possibly could before the power came back on. Some of the staff even stayed at the hotel because they couldn't get home and get back in - traffic and public transportation were a nightmare. Would stay here again (and hopefully not have a hurricane). All around good value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Address: 204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.