We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for price, good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Chelsea Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #312 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality for price, good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Was here during Sandy. The situation was really crummy all over lower Manhattan. The staff worked tirelessly to make us as comfortable as they possibly could before the power came back on. Some of the staff even stayed at the hotel because they couldn't get home and get back in - traffic and public transportation were a nightmare. Would stay here again (and hopefully not have a hurricane). All around good value.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    211
    72
    23
    18
See reviews for
97
88
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Chelsea Savoy has decent sized, clean rooms with a handy mini fridge in the room. The breakfast is simple with fresh bagles and coffee and the staff is friendly. Located on the corner of 7th and West 23rd, the hotel is close to the subway, great shopping and restaurants.
This hotel is not fancy, but neither is the price.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Booked a room during storm Sandy based on the staff stating that they power the hotel by use of generator when the power goes out. The only reason a room was booked was for the use of power. We have a handicapped family member that needs use of power for breathing treatments. Once the power went out and the generators were turned on we were then advised that the generators do not provide any power to the hotel rooms. This would be bad enough, as this was something we clarified specificaly previous to booking the hotel... but the elevators do not even run. This means that not only is there no power in the room for breathing treatments, but our disabled family member also cannot get off of the 4th floor. If the staff at this nightmare place would have been up front and just stated that they do have a generator, but it only operates the lobby and some limited emergency lights in the stairways (but no access for guests) then we would have NOT have booked at this hotel. We have stayed at this hotel before and dealt with the inconveniences of noisy elevators, key cards that dont work, remotes that dont work, refrigerators that do not work, dirty floors and staff that speaks very little English. We are not generally very picky as the location is great for our needs, but after this experience and the complete dishonesty of the staff of this establishment we will never stay at this hotel again and would recommend others looking elsewhere as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked the hotel via the internet. Arrived with car, but found the hotel could notmoffer parking as listed at the internet. We found parking in the local area. Check-in without any further delay. Found the rooms to be large with two double beds (not the expected queens size), but nice and clean rooms. Bathroom was clean and large. Internet available for 10 USD/day. Positively surpriced with breakfast included. Not a large selection, but a bagle and tea/coffee. That's OK. Possible to store luggage.

Location is good. Metro line red 1 around the corner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelica, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

what a great location! one block in either direction to main subways. a good continental breakfast with genuine NY bagels...and more. The prices were moderate, and I felt safe and comfortable. The room was bigger than I expected, bed was great, and extra pillows. Included were iron and board, hair dryer, shampoo etc...and a mini fridge. flat screen tv with cable and HBO, although it was odd that the baseball playoffs were without any commentary...what's with that? finally, there was a radio alarm compatible with a Ipod...which I don't have. I will plan on staying here again...finally, it was a mere $4.00 cab drive, or a couple subway stops from Penn Station.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Trying to find a reasonably priced hotel in NYC that you would want to stay in Is difficult at best. I wasn't expecting much and am happy to report that we were pleasantly surprised by the Chelsea Savoy. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The bathroom looked brand new and the location couldn't have been more convenient. It sits in a vibrant neighborhood just blocks from the new highline and Chelsea Markets. Restaurants of all types and price ranges are everywhere and there is a subway stop right across the street. Many have commented on the poor breakfast but, there again, I was pleasantly surprised. This is NYC people! No place gives out free breakfasts for the price of these rooms. Yes, the Chelsea's spread was just carbs and coffee, but, the coffee was good and the pastries were high quality. We would stay there again in an instant.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room if you want to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

I just spent five nights at the Chelsea Savoy and I really enjoyed it. The room was clean and the bathroom updated. Great location and I found the staff helpful anytime I asked for directions. No one was rude as some of the other reviewers had mentioned. It was a nice touch that they had coffee and bagels out each morning for free. I really enjoyed my stay at the Savoy the little time I spend in the room :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
The GEM Hotel Chelsea
#245 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#374 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#389 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#285 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#297 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,093 reviews
Chinatown
The Hotel 91
The Hotel 91
#347 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Savoy Hotel

Address: 204 West 23rd Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#249 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea Savoy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budget hotel in NYC that is located in the vibrant Chelsea neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chelsea Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Chelsea Savoy
Chelsea Savoy New York City
Chelsea Savoy Hotel New York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chelsea Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.