We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Arms

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Carlton Arms to your Saves list
Carlton Arms
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   160 East 25th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 95 New York City B&B and Inns
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This hotel is full of character. We stayed in the "Happy Monkey Dream" room. There were ~30 monkeys painted throughout the room. Waking up in this room was like taking a trip into a fantasy jungle. The room had a private bath, but unfortunately the hot water was tepid at best. We found the water in the shared bath on the floor to be tepid as well. We did not press the issue with staff. This hotel is worth checking out if you have an open mind. I would stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    116
    61
    32
    30
See reviews for
23
109
51
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After disappointingly finding out that our first choice for accommodation near Newark only had shuttles to the city in the morning and none in the afternoon, we rang Carlton Arms for a room and were lucky enough to have a room with private bath available. Upon arrival, Alfonso offered to carry our luggages up to our rooms and refused our tip for his efforts. The room has very interesting art works that the eyes need getting used to. But what matters most is that the bed and bathrooms are clean. They let us check out late when we arrived back after a run to the brooklyn bridge. They let us keep our luggage in their office whilst we explored NYC. Free wifi is a plus but is sometimes very slow, unless you are close to the reception desk. We checked in a couple of days after and they let us check in early (9ish am!!). We were also again allowed to check out late (2ish PM) without any extra charges and let us print our boarding passes. Such kind helpful staff and the location is close to flat iron, union square and not too far from Penn station. If all you need is a basic bed and bath, want friendly service and great location in Manhattan at a low cost, then I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Checked in here for 7 nights in October with the wife. Booked 4 months previous via direct email. When arrived given three choices of room. Glad we had this as two of the rooms on the first floor was a luminous green colour and the second has a strong musty smell. We chose one on the third floor which featured an Indian theme with a large depiction of Ganesh on the walls.

This is a budget hotel in NYC. The cheapest there is I think (or I could find) and it was perfect for our needs. The communal bathrooms are clean with hot showers. The rooms had clean sheets and the room in general was of an acceptable standard of cleanliness. WI-FI worked for us in our room most of the time. Otherwise always working in the lobby area.

The location is perfect for exploring the city with close links to the Local 6 Subway train at 23rd street. Very safe location and you are surrounded by bars and eateries if you can’t be bothered to go far. Pizza shop and bagel shop are next door for all of your NYC catering needs.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone travelling to NYC that wants to be close to the action on a budget…like us.

Two complaints. 1st, the curtains in the room did nothing to keep light out and this combined with street noise made it tough to sleep for me to sleep past 7am. (I am a light sleeper however. The missus had no issue!) The 2nd, one of the house cats is an aggressive little dude. Think I heard the cleaner fighting with him one morning. The other is delightful however.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I was helping friends from Germany check in. First problem was, It was difficult to find the front door (a discrete-looking locked door, and you have to ring the bell to be let in).
The front clerk was rude (didn't even want to talk to me since I was not checking in).

Place looked filthy. They use pad-locks for the room for your security when you're away.

This is the exact example of "you get what you pay for". Very cheap in price, but would NOT recommend it at all to ANYONE.

Room Tip: Look for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

When we arrived, they told us they had cancelled our reservation as we had not confirmed it. We checked our emails there and then, and it turns out we had confirmed BEFORE the date requested, not ON the date requested. If you take the risk of booking here, ensure you follow their instructions precisely, and keep calling them to confirm the room, as they are likely to have cancelled it. This would not have happened if they had a decent system in place for taking bookings (like a computer).

When we got there, we were slightly relieved to have to find an alternative - the place is hideous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We got unlucky with the room they put us in. The room was painted black very depressing and the beds were squished together with only a sink in the room and ONE outlet((which the A/C was connected to))(charging 4 phones was ridiculous had to do that on the 1st floor) Bathroom was down the hallway and constantly occupied. We were also on the last floor so if you're not into carrying your luggage all the way up I think 5 or 6 flights of stairs you're [--]. We had 4 gals in one room which is a terrible idea since they are tiny rooms. They told us they had no other rooms open that night we checked in. The next day one of the girls wound up paying for another room which was amazing beautiful and had a private bathroom. I think if we would have ended up having that room for our stay it would have been great.

There is no room service what so ever, if you want your trash changed you've gotta do it yourself. Extra pillows and blankets are down on the first floor. The beds are old really old one of the girls said she felt like it was on a slant and kept rolling over onto the other girl. A/C has only one option and that is freezing.(So make sure you get extra blankets they only provide sheets in the bedroom)

Interesting concept but im to high maintenance for something like this, maybe if I was a punk rocker or something this would be up my alley.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We booked a week at the Carlton Arms about three months prior to our visit. A few weeks out, they asked for confirmation which I promptly gave them. Having not heard back, I checked with them twice and at one week out, they informed me they had canceled the booking saying I never confirmed. Extremely poor business.

Room Tip: Check the YMCA on Central Park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Arms

Address: 160 East 25th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Carlton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.