We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for NYC” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Arms

Save Saved
You added Carlton Arms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carlton Arms
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   160 East 25th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 97 New York City B&B and Inns
Champaign-Urbana, IL
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value for NYC”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

At the time of our travels my husband and I were just students. It had a central location and was very affordable for an NY hotel. I loved the design of our room, which we got to pick out from what was available. Bare minimum in terms of niceties but the staff was pleasant, there were adorable kitties to love and lots of interesting art to admire and decipher.

I loved the place EXCEPT for the fact that our room, over the pizza place, constantly smelled like pizza. It didn't get in our clothes at least! Also, the bathroom wasn't very clean and smelled a bit mildewy. However compared to hostels I've been to it was in an acceptable state.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    96
    52
    30
    29
See reviews for
18
98
39
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I would encourage all travellors to avoid this hotel. It was worse than many hostels I have stayed in (and there have been many!). The staff were unfriendly, the rooms are painted in dark colourse (as per photo - this is quite disturbing in dark corridors and stairwells in addition to rooms), floors uneven, the bath in the toilet on our landing partially full of water a lot of the time as it did not drain, carpets barely there, and a radiator in the corridor literally spouted steam throughout one night. There was a lot of traffic noise from our room - we think as the air conditioning means that the windows can't be fully shut - although some noise is understandably inevitable in NYC. We also had an electricity blackout while we were staying - no one came to ask if we were alright or had all that we needed, or were visible as we passed through the hallway - their solution to this was to leave bare flamed night lights on wooden staircases. We feel lucky to have got out alive!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights and on arriving thought the place was cool. Reception staff were pleasant and the artistic decor was impressive. Didn't have particularly high expectations as it is a budget hotel and we were told from friendly reception guy that the room would not be serviced unless we requested fresh linen, towels etc. which was not a problem. However the bed linen got changed every day and we wondered why, as this was contrary to what we had been told. I can only presume that this was their way of covering up a problem rather than dealing with it as unfortunately by the end of our stay my girlfriend had a bad swollen rash on her arms. Upon visiting the doctor back home in the UK we were told they are bed bug bites. Worse still we now have some unwelcome house guests who managed to hitch a ride in our luggage and we are struggling to get rid of them. Through cleaning our own home and replacing our bedding we have most likely spent out what we initially saved on booking a cheaper hotel in the first place. Not to mention the upset and discomfort it has caused.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is the great replacement for the famed Chelsea Hotel as the main bohemian stopping point in NYC. The place is clean, the rooms cheap ($80 bucks for shared bath) and you'll never find anything like it anywhere else on the planet.

My only complaints were that the street noise at night was a bit much and that it was best to rise early and avoid a wait for the bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the street, the view may not be great but it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed here with a friend for one night who actually rented the room in his name. The service was good. There is no elevator and there are common washrooms down the hall. Our room didn't have a terribly good view but it did have a window air conditioner and a small sink which was quite convenient. Each room has interesting art that has been painted by a local artist. Washrooms were somewhat clean and you could get fresh towels at the front desk as required. There are many shops in the area if you need to get food or supplies. As long as you are not expecting a 3+, 4 or 5 star hotel you will be happy to save some money as the place is fairly good. Mostly clean but I was not expecting too much. The location is great as well. I would certainly stay there again given that this hotel is fairly reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

wowee what a place. desperate for a place to stay for the night i was tired and almost delusional when google maps directed me to what looked like a building out of alice in wonderland. As i approached late at night we rang the buzzer and were transported to this quirky hideaway in the centre of manhattan. Desperate for a room the friendly and accommodating manager there quickly found me a key and offered me a shared bathroom room for only 80 dollars! I entered my room and was overcome by the cool decor and air-conditioned rooms! with a comfy double bed and towels provided i was more than happy to stay there. As i curled into bed my gratitude was beaming. Late check out at 11.30 i would recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget in NYC (which lets face it is anyone) Thank you so much Carlton Arms!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was my second time staying at the Carlton Arms in 2 years. Good place to stay if you don't mind the hostel ambiance. Sure the place is old, the bathrooms are questionable, the rooms are pretty small and the beds are okay at most but the place is clean. For the price and the location of this hotel I will probably book there again the next time I go to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Carlton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Arms

Address: 160 East 25th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carlton Arms 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Carlton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Arms Hotel New York City
Carlton Arms New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.