We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beast Speedboat Ride

Beast Speedboat Ride
Pier 83, West 42nd Street and 12th Avenue, New York City, NY 10036 (Midtown)
212-563-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
$20*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: New York's only jet-powered thrill boat! the Beast leaves all others in its wake as the Captain takes this custom-built 70-foot offshore racing powerboat up to 45mph on a ride down to the Statue of Liberty.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great views of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a fun trip, departing right from the circle line piers. Breathtaking views of NYC and a nice up close look at lady liberty. The crew is a lot of fun, taking your picture for you and occasionally squirting people with a super soaker. The boat is fast but not scary fast. Lots of smiles and laughs for all on board. Reasonable price for a ny attraction...well worth the $.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    40
    2
    1
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great fun. Worth the price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife and I rode The Beast on a Sunday in June. We sat towards the back, right past where the overhang begins, and glad we did. It was an awesome ride; they crank rock 'n roll music during the full-throttle trip and its probably easier to hear towards the back. Definitely adds to the experience. If I were Circle Line, I'd install more speakers so everyone can hear - great choice of high adrenaline songs.

There is an enormous breeze as you fly threw the Hudson River at 45mph. The captain really knows how to handle the boat. He did a bunch of hard side to side turns which reminded me of a roller coaster and were a nice touch we did not expect. One of the guides looks like a 6' tall version of the Big Show from WWE and added a lot of fun to the trip. He offered to take pictures (with your own camera) of groups and couples so everyone could be in the picture - and this is while the boat is flying at 45mph! Class act.

They take you right up to the Statue of Liberty mid-way through the trip and stop the boat so you can get some really great photos. They get as close as permitted, much closer than the Circle Line Tour boat did when we rode that last year. If you're looking to get close up photos of the Statue without actually standing on Liberty Island, I don't see any better way than this.

You don't really get wet unless you're literally at the very back end of the boat. Big Show ran down the boat once or twice with a large squirt gun and squirted people - mostly young kids and teens. Pretty harmless but it added to the fun for them.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST GROVE
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Need for speed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

It was a perfect NYC day in Sept and we had researched endlessly what we would do on our one day there. We chose the 30 minute Beast instead of the 90 tour boat trip because we had a 9 year old (not to mention a 64 year old) and wanted a thrill ride. We got it!

Our 9 year old is a metal head and was thrilled with the music the captain/DJ had chosen. Don't try to take a video until the captain slows down. Be safe and hang on to the rail in front of you.

We weren't offered a picture. They were in a hurry to get us aboard. There are bathrooms and food close by. Go online and purchase your voucher. We received $5 off by doing this. You will have to go to the ticket window to trade the voucher in for a ticket. We will do this again and again!

My only displeasure is that it was not 30 minutes-more like 20.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quick trip to Statue of Liberty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good 30 minute trip to see the statue of liberty. Beware if you have a bad back or neck this will not be for you as the ride is particularly rough. Staff were helpful and took pictures of groups if required.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun way to see the Statue of Liberty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked this boat trip for just 25 dollars each which I thought was a great price. We originally opted for this as there were no ferries due for a while. The boat looked great, we got our picture took in front of it before the ride which was optional to buy afterwards which was a nice touch. We sat down in the boat and we started picking up speed (after strapping in to our seat belts). Music was being played and the atmosphere was great. The view of the skyline was amazing. The boat stopped at the liberty statue for photos and on our way back the boat swayed from side to side soaking everyone which was really really funny. I enjoyed the speedboat as it was a quick way to see the statue when your on a short trip to New York. Very very fun. Would ride the beast again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beast Speedboat Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beast Speedboat Ride, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.