We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Manhattan

Children's Museum of Manhattan
212 W. 83d St., New York City, NY 10024 (Upper West Side)
212 721 1234
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #345 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A kid-friendly museum with many interactive activities.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Great place to take ur kids and let them learn by being a kid, greats plays right in the UWS excellent for cold weather and want the children to learn with music and fun activities

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    30
    22
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I brought my 16-month-old here one day shortly after they opened. I was reluctant to pay the $11 for me and for him, but I guess that's the point since it's a children's museum. In retrospect, it was worth it. We spent most time on the 3rd floor as the other exhibits are for older kids. He loved all the equipment and had fun exploring it. At one point he even got tired and we had to leave, but that was understandable as it was close to nap time. I wish they opened earlier, 10 am is a little late when you have to factor in lunch and nap (I guess this is no problem for older kids who don't nap anymore). But they stamp your hand and you can come back in the afternoon I suppose and continue the fun. Overall a nice space for entertaining the little ones.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“fun for children and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We were there on a crowded Sunday, but every floor is packed with fun and interesting things to see and do. Our 2 year old was enchanted and had a great time and a wonderful opportunity to run around without our worrying about traffic or people!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“little, good, and fun for the kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

best for the 3 to 7 crowd, you can definitely keep a child amused for 3 hours or more or about any child of this age's activity limit. Every exhibit/activity has an educational component. There is no test at the end but my son had fun and surely will retain something right? This is manhattan with many people so when it rains it is filled with mostly happy kids and parents. I believe some area change so check what is currently there. Have a large stroller/coat check room with runs very efficiently. This is a small place and somewhat pricey, again it is the upper west side of manhattan.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“hours and hours of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

4 adults and one 4 year old kept amused all day. Very wet day in NYC so it was a perfect way to keep dry and keep our granddaughter very happy. Lots to do and see. Wonderful staff that help with painting etc.Would recommend arriving early if its weekend as lots of locals go.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Manhattan also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Manhattan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.