We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bus route is on my way to work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue
New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #70 of 859 attractions in New York City
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Famous street offering some of the most expensive and fashionable shops in the city.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The bus route is on my way to work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a beautiful avenue with lots of stores, St. Patrick's Cathedral
entrance to Central Park, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    531
    321
    85
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Shopping Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford the designer prices this is heaven if not then a bit of window shopping and people watchin is just as fun !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fifth Avenue is the perfect place to shop and/or window shop. A bit on the high-end side, there are tons of great stores with lots of merchandise and helpful clerks. And if shopping is not your thing, it is a great place to people-watch

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Great Location To See Celebrities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fifth Ave is great for window shopping and celebrity sighting. It was listed in this guide as one of the top places to see celebrities in New York and it's true! I saw AnnaSophia Robb who is in The Carrie Diaries, Jimmy Fallon, and Isaac Mizrahi on 5th. Keep your eyes open when you're walking down the street, you never know who you will see! Here's the guide where I saw it http://www.onlocationvacations.com/2013/01/29/get-olvs-field-guide-to-celebrity-sighting-nyc-on-itunes-amazon-and-barnes-noble/

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“man what fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For old and young alike. I have been here a dozen times or so. Sometimes with friends, sometimes with family and each time has been a different experience.

So much to see, so much to do.

Heck, I was there with a brother in-law a few months before 911, and got to see and walk around the Twin Towers. We also got to watch a car jacking while resting. A very nice Rolls Royce, is now in someone else's hands, or at least was for a short period of time.

I've been there several times for MacWorld, a car show or 2. We've gone down to visit the Food Network home and shops. I went there for a meeting with Avon, which was a real hoot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Avenue also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.