We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bus route is on my way to work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue
New York City, NY (Midtown)
Improve this listing
Visit Fifth Avenue like an insider
Top Rated
$45*
and up
Gossip Girl Sites Tour
Ranked #46 of 1,645 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Famous street offering some of the most expensive and fashionable shops in the city.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“The bus route is on my way to work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a beautiful avenue with lots of stores, St. Patrick's Cathedral
entrance to Central Park, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    504
    130
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
“Shopping Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford the designer prices this is heaven if not then a bit of window shopping and people watchin is just as fun !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fifth Avenue is the perfect place to shop and/or window shop. A bit on the high-end side, there are tons of great stores with lots of merchandise and helpful clerks. And if shopping is not your thing, it is a great place to people-watch

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Great Location To See Celebrities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fifth Ave is great for window shopping and celebrity sighting. It was listed in this guide as one of the top places to see celebrities in New York and it's true! I saw AnnaSophia Robb who is in The Carrie Diaries, Jimmy Fallon, and Isaac Mizrahi on 5th. Keep your eyes open when you're walking down the street, you never know who you will see! Here's the guide where I saw it http://www.onlocationvacations.com/2013/01/29/get-olvs-field-guide-to-celebrity-sighting-nyc-on-itunes-amazon-and-barnes-noble/

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“man what fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For old and young alike. I have been here a dozen times or so. Sometimes with friends, sometimes with family and each time has been a different experience.

So much to see, so much to do.

Heck, I was there with a brother in-law a few months before 911, and got to see and walk around the Twin Towers. We also got to watch a car jacking while resting. A very nice Rolls Royce, is now in someone else's hands, or at least was for a short period of time.

I've been there several times for MacWorld, a car show or 2. We've gone down to visit the Food Network home and shops. I went there for a meeting with Avon, which was a real hoot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Avenue also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.