We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shopping Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue
New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #72 of 863 Attractions in New York City
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Famous street offering some of the most expensive and fashionable shops in the city.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Shopping Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you are lucky enough to be able to afford the designer prices this is heaven if not then a bit of window shopping and people watchin is just as fun !

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    377
    94
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fifth Avenue is the perfect place to shop and/or window shop. A bit on the high-end side, there are tons of great stores with lots of merchandise and helpful clerks. And if shopping is not your thing, it is a great place to people-watch

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
“Great Location To See Celebrities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fifth Ave is great for window shopping and celebrity sighting. It was listed in this guide as one of the top places to see celebrities in New York and it's true! I saw AnnaSophia Robb who is in The Carrie Diaries, Jimmy Fallon, and Isaac Mizrahi on 5th. Keep your eyes open when you're walking down the street, you never know who you will see! Here's the guide where I saw it http://www.onlocationvacations.com/2013/01/29/get-olvs-field-guide-to-celebrity-sighting-nyc-on-itunes-amazon-and-barnes-noble/

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“man what fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For old and young alike. I have been here a dozen times or so. Sometimes with friends, sometimes with family and each time has been a different experience.

So much to see, so much to do.

Heck, I was there with a brother in-law a few months before 911, and got to see and walk around the Twin Towers. We also got to watch a car jacking while resting. A very nice Rolls Royce, is now in someone else's hands, or at least was for a short period of time.

I've been there several times for MacWorld, a car show or 2. We've gone down to visit the Food Network home and shops. I went there for a meeting with Avon, which was a real hoot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Shopping as it can be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you like shopping and / or window shopping - of the high end side, this is just perfect. Cool stores, service most of the time excellent, but attentive staff. (but why do ambercrombie and fitch need to perfume their store soooo much...)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Avenue also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.