We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location To See Celebrities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fifth Avenue

Fifth Avenue
New York City, NY (Manhattan)
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #71 of 858 Attractions in New York City
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Famous street offering some of the most expensive and fashionable shops in the city.
New York
1 review
“Great Location To See Celebrities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Fifth Ave is great for window shopping and celebrity sighting. It was listed in this guide as one of the top places to see celebrities in New York and it's true! I saw AnnaSophia Robb who is in The Carrie Diaries, Jimmy Fallon, and Isaac Mizrahi on 5th. Keep your eyes open when you're walking down the street, you never know who you will see! Here's the guide where I saw it http://www.onlocationvacations.com/2013/01/29/get-olvs-field-guide-to-celebrity-sighting-nyc-on-itunes-amazon-and-barnes-noble/

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    342
    87
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“man what fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

For old and young alike. I have been here a dozen times or so. Sometimes with friends, sometimes with family and each time has been a different experience.

So much to see, so much to do.

Heck, I was there with a brother in-law a few months before 911, and got to see and walk around the Twin Towers. We also got to watch a car jacking while resting. A very nice Rolls Royce, is now in someone else's hands, or at least was for a short period of time.

I've been there several times for MacWorld, a car show or 2. We've gone down to visit the Food Network home and shops. I went there for a meeting with Avon, which was a real hoot.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Shopping as it can be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you like shopping and / or window shopping - of the high end side, this is just perfect. Cool stores, service most of the time excellent, but attentive staff. (but why do ambercrombie and fitch need to perfume their store soooo much...)

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
755 reviews 755 reviews
414 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
393 helpful votes 393 helpful votes
“Great walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Fifth avenue is a great street to just walk the length of. But make sure that you take your walking shoes it is a LONG walk. It will take you through the diversity of New York City and if you are game can have you venue the entire length of Manhattan island with both its shopping, its amazing apartments, museums and then up to the top end into the Spanish harlem areas, which you need to discover.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Walk, Fab Shopping”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It's Fifth Avenue, one of the greatest streets to shop in the world. Every store/brand you've ever wanted to shop has a huge store here.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fifth Avenue also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fifth Avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.