We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pio Pio

Pio Pio
210 East 34th Street (between 2nd & 3rd Avenues), New York City, NY 10016-4847 (Midtown)
(212) 481-0034
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,879 of 11,181 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Tarrytown, New York
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went a few weeks ago on the recommendation of a friend. Wow. Great food. It's a shared food type of restaurant. Order an entre and a few sides and you all dig in. No double dipping. We started with the Sangria. Very tasty. We ordered the Matador combo with fried yucca and maduros. Talk about alot of food. There were only three of us. Can we say doggie bag :) All the food was amazing. The sauces were amazing. First time having Peruvian food, and it was all good, even the desert combo. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    26
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth a trip just for the chicken.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I found myself in Midtown one snowy evening at 9:00 pm. I wanted to try something different and saw Pio Pio made Peruvian chicken. I ordered a quarter chicken with a side of fried plantains. The chicken was super moist and had a nice amount of seasoning infused throughout. The chickens are the smaller variety. It was so good I should have ordered a half chicken. Service was fast. Will definitely go back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I found reviews of Pio Pio online while staying at an Upper East Side hotel and thought I'd give it a try. Wow am I glad that I did!! I got take out one night (1/2 chicken, maduras, avocado salad) and it was absolutely delicious. The chicken was so moist and tender.....and the green sauce was OUT OF THIS WORLD....spicy and smooth and a perfect complement for the chicken. Even the salad dressing had me swooning! You will not be disappointed!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Try Chicken rotisserie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited Pio Pio in Hell's Kitchen with my friend.
It was dim in the restaurant, which had duplex floors.
Some parties had having parties.
My friend said that a party was held at the restaurant whenever she came.
We ordered sangria was fruity and delicious, and Ceviche, seafood marinated in lime juice & mixed with red onions, cilantro for starters.
Then Ensalada de Avocado was sliced avocado, lettuce and tomatoes, tossed in a homemade dressing.
Simple, but was really delicious.
Juanita's Chicken was one whole rotisserie chicken marinated in mama juanita's authentic recipe.
Arroz Chaufa, peruvian style chinese fried rice mixed with chicken, eggs and onion, with soy sauce flavor.
Most of menu canbe delivered upon address.
I intended to go to Big Wong King for the breakfast tomorrow.

Pio Pio - Hell's Kutchen
604 Tenth Avenue (between 43rd & 44th Streets)
Telephone: (212) 459-2929
Restaurant hours
Sun - Thurs 11 am - 11 pm
Fri & Sat 11 am - 12 am

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“I highly recommend it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Small, charming restaurant with excellent service. Order the sangria and seafood cerviche to start off. Absolutely delicious! We got the roasted chicken that came with lots of "sides" that were amazing: rice and beans, avocado salad, fries with sausage, fried plantains. You'll have lunch for the next day. Including the tip, it cost $70. We could have easily shared the dinner with another person. For a NYC restaurant, it's excellent food at a reasonable price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pio Pio also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Pio Pio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pio Pio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.