We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome way to see New York - so relaxing and fun!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Street Seaport

South Street Seaport
Fulton & South Streets, Pier 17, New York City, NY 10038 (Financial District)
212-732-7678
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$125*
and up
Private Tour: New York City by Jeep SUV
Ranked #57 of 591 Shopping in New York City
Type: Historic Walking Areas, History Museums, Scenic/ Historic Walking Areas, Malls, Shopping
Activities: Dining, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The shops and restaurants and historic ambiance have made this renovated port one of Manhattan's most visited spots.
new york city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome way to see New York - so relaxing and fun!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

this was so much fun! We did the pioneer schooner tour with 2 grandmas, my husband, myself and our 4 kids, aged 8 to 14. Everyone had a blast. We helped hoist the sales and the captain even let my kids steer the boat.

It's such a great way to see NYC and the Statue of Liberty -- totally relaxing and really fun.

Everyone on the crew was also super nice and informative, many of them are volunteers so they really want to be there.

Highly recommend this as a really fun way to see the city, for both tourists and locals!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    209
    100
    31
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mum and Daughter Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I was disappointed with this attraction. The sail boats had fencing around so could not take good photos. Not many people were there. Must have gone at wrong time of day!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Mother & Daughter Break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I have to admit I was really looking forward to going here. Disappointed as there were a lot of bulding works going on around the shopping area, so didnt get to see much. The covered shopping area was nice, the food hall about average. Lovely to see the old ships though

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“shop shop @ eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place to stop for shopping or lunch, with beautiful look over the East River and Brooklyn Heights, just minutes walk from Wall Str.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Bay, Florida
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“OK For Shopping and Dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We went to the South Street Seaport and much of the area is still under repair from Hurricane Sandy and has not reopened. The Pier 17 Mall is open but not completely occupied. They have some tourist shops, clothing shops and a very good food court. It is not anything special and we would have been disappointed if we were not staying a ten minute walk away. It will be better when the museums reopen.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street Seaport also viewed

 

Been to South Street Seaport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Street Seaport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.