We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, contemporary vibe with average food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Samba - CLOSED

Sushi Samba
245 Park Ave South, New York City, NY 10003 (Flatiron District)
2124759377
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: between 19th and 20th streets
Transit: Union Square subway stops.
NYC/NJ
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fun, contemporary vibe with average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We usually go here when guests come in from out of town because it has a fun vibe but the food is okay. I keep hearing that the rooftop area is the best but we always end up on the bottom level. Service has never been great for us.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    87
    46
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fun place with great sushi and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Have enjoyed sushi samba in NYC and Chicago, great food, drinks and fun place to meet up with friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“hmm, food is ok. Service is slightly above average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I expected more to be honest. I've eaten great sushi from Thomo's (where the Japanese people go) and a million places on St Marks. This...not up there. I don't care how much you 'fusion' sushi, it doesn't make it instantly great tasting. No wow factor...but then they expect you to pay for the fact that there is one...maybe I missed it ?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Superb service, great food, fun atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We dined with our 14 month old son Duke on the recommendation of a New York local and our expectations were exceeded. First of all and possibly most importantly - is it sometimes difficult dining with a 1-2 year old at a Japanese restaurant (even if, as is the case with Duke, your kids are almost qualified food reviewers). The staff could not have been more welcoming, accommodating our family's every need. Te bar and restaurant is cool. It transforms from a family friendly well set out restaurant to a cool bar/restaurant during the evening. Our waitress (I wish I could recall her name - she was just outstanding and Duke loved her) suggested the chef's selection, which enabled us all to "experience the essence of japanese, brazilian and peruvian cuisine with our multi-course omakase" (as perfectly described by them). We had one too many lychee bubbletails (their description) but left very happy and satisfied.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We went here our first night in NYC, we hadn't eaten all day and was starving. We shared a selection of Samba Rolls, and was not disappointed. It is not traditional sushi, but it was the best sushi I ever had. The staff was really friendly, and especially our waitress. We got this recomended from a New Yorker, and I would like to pass the recomendation on. It is a bit pricey, but worth it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Samba also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Samba, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.