We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 101 course on Wall Street” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of American Finance

Museum of American Finance
48 Wall Street, Ok, New York City, NY 10005 (Formerly Museum of American Financial History) (Financial District)
212-908-4110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #162 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
New York, NY
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A 101 course on Wall Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Has some interesting artifacts like the first edition of WSJ, the ticker tape machine, and all the US $ denominated bills. Also has a side display to Hamilton, the "father of American finance".

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    8
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Financial History Shown at its BEst”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

It's a wonderful museum with fine lectures and good exhibits. The building itself is worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Interesting and educational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

A wonderful museum to learn about the history of money in the US, however there were large classes of teens that arrived w/ teachers during our visit and overwhelmed the small place ( the teachers were loudly lecturing the kids who appeared to be very bored by the place). Our little group of older adults were very entertained by the history of Hamilton, banking in the US and the financial markets.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Interesting look at financial history in the US.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I really enjoyed my visit to this museum. It's not too big, but you can easily spend 1-2 hours here walking all around, learning about the history of US banking policies, the stock market, US currency and how it's changed over time, and major frauds and scandals in US history.

There are some really cool exhibits and artifacts scatter throughout. Most importantly, the museum doesn't try to make an argument for any politics. it discusses market fraud, the sub-prime crisis, and the Lehman Brother collapse in an informative matter and leaves visitors to draw conclusions.

I already knew a lot of the things presented here; it's geared for even visitors without any knowledge of American economics. Still, I learned and enjoyed my visit. I recommend this place while checking out Wall St of the financial district.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

My husband is a finance buff and insisted that we visit this Wall Street Museum. There was a terrific exhibit on Alexander Hamilton, as well as permanent exhibits about the stock market and history of the use of currency and checks. The small gift shop had some very nice pieces of original art. Certainly worth the time!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of American Finance also viewed

 

Been to Museum of American Finance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of American Finance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.