We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frick Collection

Frick Collection
1 E. 70th St., Fifth Ave., New York City, NY 10021
212-288-0700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Arts and crafts
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Henry Frick once resided in this 18th-century French-style mansion; now its the home of his impressive art collection, which includes Titian, Vermeer, Rembrandt, El Greco, Goya, Whistler and more.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“What a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This just blew me away! The building is beautiful and the art collection is absoutely fabulous - and so many of the great artists all in one place. So many times I heard myself saying " wow, that is a painting by ...." ! One of my New York highlights & highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,189
    651
    118
    29
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Everything in the place, including the halls and the exterior building, worth a look! Feast for the eyes.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

A quiet museum well worth the visit. This place may be easily missed on the Museum Mile, but do pay a visit. Wonderful statues and work of art from all the masters. The building itself is astonishing.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What a Collection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I am ashamed to say that I had never heard of the Frick Museum. This is an absolute MUST for any visitor. Some of the paintings are so well known that I had just assumed that they were in The Metropolitan or, more likely, in the National Gallery in a London. Visiting the Frick is now at the very top of my list of venues in New York. Not To Be Missed!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Astounding! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

This was my third time in NYC and my boyfriend and I decided to go. The mansion was like a step back in time and particularly so as my boyfriend enjoys art and I love history. We ended up spending over 5 hours wandering the exhibits without realising the time. The audio tour was very well done and as a bonus, a particular security personnel had some very interesting stories about the exhibit and art as well. Having been to almost all the major museums in NY, I can certainly say this one was very unique and offered up an astounding collection of art to enjoy! (Even more astounding when you think a single gentleman collected the lot!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Frick Collection also viewed

 

Been to Frick Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frick Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.