We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok but I probably wouldn't come back” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Megu - Midtown

Megu - Midtown
845 UN Plaza, Trump World Tower, New York City, NY 10017 (Manhattan)
2129647777
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Megu - Midtown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,298 of 11,595 restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $60
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: First Avenue at 47th Street
Transit: Near the 6, V, E trains 53rd / Lexington Avenue Stop. M15 bus stop near 50th.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“It's ok but I probably wouldn't come back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Service was brisk with the appetizer and entrees. But we waited over 20 minutes before we got dessert. Tried the Restaurant Week menu. I had the Madai oriental salad, the kobe sirloin kagero steak (a flambe!) and since ladies get 2 desserts, I had the green tea crepe (more like a mille feuille) and the yuzu creme brulee (more mousse than custard). It was a good meal but I don't think I would come back as it was a bit of a trek all the way to First Avenue from Times Square.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    22
    10
    15
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“V. Expensive but it's awesome.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

As part of the Restaurant's Week in NYC we took the 33 USD per person Menu which was great. We only order a coffee and a lemonade apart from that but apparently the bill (we were 3) went up to 150 USD in taxes...
The service is awesome and the food it taste great.
And please check out the cool Japanese electronic toilet.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed - Food was OK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Was recommended by Centurion concierge for my NYE dinner. Walked in the decor was nice ambiance was dead...We ordered our food and did not receive anything until 60 minutes later i had enough and asked for the manager.....he was not available that night and was given his bsns. card. Suddenly we received our entree before we received our edamame, mixed salad and tuna avocado appetizer... Asked to speak to the person in charge that night. Was told he was "Sorry" and the meal was on the house. Then they brought over our mixed greens with the dressing on the side (shouldent have taken longer than 5 min to put together) and was told the Edamame and tuna appetizer was taking longer than expected (keep in mind its been 1.2 hrs) i asked to cancel it. When we were finished i asked for the bill so I could at least leave the waiter a tip. Everything we ordered on was on the bill as if he forgot to Comp whatever was promised.... Asked manager what exactly was "on the house" and he said the Tuna and the edamame...... OBVIOUSLY we never received it! bottom line STAY AWAY.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Atmosphere is great... price takes away from actual enjoyment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I'm sorry.. but $32 for a GLASS of sahki... really? We had 2 appetizers, 1 entre, and 1 glass (not bottle, single glass was split) and the bill came to $178. The atmosphere was beautiful, and the ice sculpture is nice.. but the food is good, but INSANELY OVERPRICED. I would not recommend this restaurant, unless you are your company is paying for it.

Overall.. not worth it, go elsewhere.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good food but v expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

$500 for 2 is too expensive for this place, good sushi, amazing restaurant decor but not value for money, 5 jonnie blacks and 4 glasses of wine, so can't even blame it on the alcohol

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Megu - Midtown also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Megu - Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Megu - Midtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.