We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Break from a Busy City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cloisters

The Cloisters
Fort Tryon Park, New York City, NY 10040
212 923 3700
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$25*
and up
Skip the Line: Metropolitan Museum of Art
Ranked #10 of 634 Attractions in New York City
Type: Religious Sites, Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Branch of the Metropolitan Museum of Art that was constructed out of sections of French medieval monasteries, offers an extensive collection of statues, paintings, stained glass windows and tapestries.
Nashville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Break from a Busy City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We traveled on the A train to The Cloisters Museum. We grabbed a picnic lunch of bagels and black & white cookies. We ate along the path with amazing views of the Hudson and George Washington Bridge. Honestly, the museum is a little boring but we took lots of photos in the museum gardens and had a lovely break from the busy city. If you need some green grass and a break from the crowds, the Cloisters is a nice day trip.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,564
    505
    106
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful retreat from the business of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On one of our last days in New York my girlfriend and I decided to take the train ride up north to the Cloisters. Oh, and we were so happy we did. What an oasis it is!

We took the elevator our of the station, then walked the beautiful walk towards the Cloisters. There was a view of the river beside and flowers blooming everywhere. We unpacked our picnic lunch (DO BRING A SANDWICH LUNCH!) and enjoyed the lovely view and meal.

After eating, we walked up a hill and arrived at the Cloisters. Immediately, we felt a calmness come over us. The medieval beauty of the place was breathtaking. We wandered through the exhibits looking at tapestries, religious relics, and statues. There is a lovely courtyard garden to enjoy, as well.

Overall it was one of our most peaceful and memorable experiences in New York (hard to believe it WAS New York!!). Do not pass this gem by!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Building with A Wonderful Collection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

A great collection of medieval art in a beautiful building. The unicorn tapestries are by themselves enough reason to visit the Cloisters but the whole building is wonderful.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Religious and castle art in peaceful setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was my daughter's first time at the Cloisters, and they were having a special exhibit featuring unicorn imagery and the unicorn's iconic role in spiritual symbolism. The Cloisters is very manageable for an afternoon jaunt because the scope is smaller and the gardens in summer are quite lovely.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This museum is a little far out but it is worth the time to go. We got there in no time via the "A" train, then it's a little walk through the lovely Fort Tyron Park.
I was in awe of the extraordinary collection of treasures housed there....paintings, manuscripts, tapestries, sculptures, stained glass and architectural elements from churches and monastery's dating from the 12th through the 15th century. Don't forget to visit the gardens, you will see the plants that grew during the middle ages. I definitely recommend a visit!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cloisters also viewed

 

Been to The Cloisters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cloisters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.