We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for FREE family fun! Glad we didn't pay for it...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sony Wonder Technology Lab

Sony Wonder Technology Lab
56th Street & Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Midtown)
212 833 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 85 Fun & Games in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this technology center learn about audio, imaging, robotics, design and network through interactive exhibits, and are directed through the experience by "b.b. wonderbot," a telepresence robot.
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place for FREE family fun! Glad we didn't pay for it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This place COULD BE awesome! Kudos to Sony for offering this FREE attraction in the heart of NYC where I'm sure the rent is astronomical. I read the reviews before we went and consistently the downfall was that many of the machines were not working properly. Which we immediately found out. Considering that there were not many stations to begin with in a particular area you would think that they would keep up with the maintenance. Bummer. So if we were lucky the station we got stuck with worked. And when they worked it was cool stuff.

Unfortunately for us we were there (8/16/13) when there were three NYC Summer Camp visits. So many screaming 5-8 year olds with no manners and teen counselors. Bad timing I suppose. Maybe SONY should schedule these type of groups ALONE and not with the public. Especially for security reasons. Anyone could EASILY snatch a child in here!

The place is clean, modern and nice! So glad our visit was free! We only stayed for about 40 minutes before we had to leave out of frustration.

BTW, we didn't have advanced tickets. We walked it at 1:30pm in the afternoon on a Friday and got right in. The staff that we did see were very nice and polite.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    52
    30
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, UK
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Even though it is free it is Not worth your time.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Tour guide mentioned that this was a great attraction.

So we walked across town to find it, and booked on a tour.

Yes they do have an interactive attraction, you log in and create a profile and can play games etc.

Unfortunately it is aimed at pre teens and our son is 15 so it was no good for us.

It is very busy, a lot of the experiment stations were out of action so people were getting rather annoyed whch wasn't pleasant, some people simply wouldn't share the stations that were working which was really disappointing.

Cannot recommend this attraction at all.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cool place and it's free!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I couldn't believe this place was free! It was so great and had lots of different things to do. it shows the birth of technology and how it all works. It has lots of interactive things to do and my kids (ages 9 and 13) loved it! They even got to do a news program and report on the weather and then saw themselves on a television set. A great place to take the kids in NYC without spending any money!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Want to know why there is no admission charge.....?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I swithered between 'poor' and 'average' when rating this, yet decided on 'average' simply because admission was free! On the other hand, if I had been charged to enter, I would have been seeking a refund as many of the exhibits were out of order.

If you are reading this with a view to visiting for yourself, then please be aware that you must book a day and time at least a week before your intended visit. Also be aware that the time you reserve is the time you start to queue for entry, not before. Also, arrive late and you will be refused entry. There are a very limited number of tickets available each day for visitors 'off the street' if you care to chance it, but these are simply to fill any gaps in the bookings diary.

So, first impressions.......
On entering the concourse for the Sony Wonder Technology Lab, I was quite impressed. It was large, airy, bright, clean and spacious. There were vendors selling drinks and snacks from kiosks and plenty of seating and tables to eat at and rest.

Then........ we queued for entry.
I have seldom seen such poor customer service from staff. Smiles were not existant and conversation was abrupt. We were hearded into the lift like cattle, and transported to the top floor to begin our 'interactive journey', where we were greeted by another staff member who had attended the same charm school as her colleagues at ground level. However, we were issued with our electronic passes and instructed in monotone as to how to activate them. Hmmm........ that was it.....end of conversation for the remainder of our visit. Yes, there were staff members at each level of the Lab, but all appeared thoroughly bored and made no attempt to interact with visitors, or assist in any way when it was clear there was a problem. And there WERE problems, believe me! Many of the exhibits didn't work at all! Even at that, the ones which WERE working were not exciting and certainly nothing beyond the capabilities of an established games console.

Now, having read up on the Sony Wonder Technology Lab prior to our visit, I had anticipated that we would spend at least an afternoon in there. I had not appreciated that the lift transports visitors to the top level (4th floor) from where they descend through the other levels to the exit - no opportunity to back-track and revisit areas which had perhaps been difficult to view earlier due to overcrowding. (Beware - large groups of children visit Sony Wonder Technology Lab as part of their Summer Camp experience....perhaps because it's free of charge). We were in and out again within an hour.

So, all in all it was poor, yet free - therefore 'average'.

It might be helpful for you to know that Sony Wonder Technology Lab is open Tues-Sat 9:30-5:30, closed Sunday and Monday.

By bus it can be reached on the M1-5 and the M57. The appropriate subways are E, M, N, R to 5th Ave, F to 57th St, or 4, 5, 6 to 59th Street.
No public parking available.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
47 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting for both adult & child!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I loved this interactive hands on style of learning about technology.

It's FREE so costs nothing to visit which is an added bonus! I wish it was larger as we were having so much fun!

You get a pass & create your unique user details. This pass is then used on the stations throughout the lab. At the end you get a certificate with your picture & a record of all the activities you did.

There is a variety of things to do, learning about a digital file & how it is sent, creating a character, video editing, programming a robot, open heart surgery simulation, editing music.

It is great fun!! We had a blast...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sony Wonder Technology Lab also viewed

 

Been to Sony Wonder Technology Lab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sony Wonder Technology Lab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.