We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive, Free, Adult & Child Technology” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sony Wonder Technology Lab

Sony Wonder Technology Lab
56th Street & Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10022 (Manhattan)
212 833 8100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #267 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Science Museums, Movie Theaters, Game/ Entertainment Centers, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this technology center learn about audio, imaging, robotics, design and network through interactive exhibits, and are directed through the experience by "b.b. wonderbot," a telepresence robot.
Loudonville
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interactive, Free, Adult & Child Technology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

On a rainy afternoon during Memorial Day weekend, we (8 adults & 3 children: 4, 8, 10) spent two delightful hours wandering through the maze of interactive (robotic surgery, tv studio, recording studio) activities displayed at this free technology center open to the public and aimed at its curious and eager audience/participants. The Sony Building is located in midtown Manhattan on Madison Avenue, between 55 and 55 Streets on the west side of the street; and there is a convenient indoor plaza with a couple of coffee bars with food items as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    45
    27
    13
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worthwhile little attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We booked 3 months in advance as advised. Also ensured that we were there on time (9 a.m.) as instructed and was told that if we were late our spot would be given away.
Lot of fuss considering we were the only ones here for most of the 90 minutes we visited Sony.
There was a large school group coming in when we left so I'm glad we did come when we did.
As for the attractions inside the kids (age 6 and 9) really enjoyed the place. We did see the 30 minute movie on animation and had the theater to ourselves.
I think it's a one time visit. I wouldn't go back again a 2nd time but glad we went the once. I can see it not being much fun if it's busy as most attractions take a bit of time and there are only 3 stations for each game.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kentucky
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good Free Entertainment for the Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I agree with most of the other reviewers. I don't think we would have paid to visit this attraction. It was fun entertainment for my kids (ages 10 & 13) for about 1 hour. There are many hands on games and tech experiences. You must call in advance to get a time to visit. They were very strict on not letting us line up for admission until our reserved time. We were not able to participate in every experience there, because the wait time would have been too long (20 mins for one activity). We all got a certificate at the end of the experience showing what activities that we participated in. Overall, a good experience!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“fun and free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked this free attraction by calling the sony wonder lab a few weeks prior to our visit. Best thing about the tour is that it is free. There was a bit of a wait to load guests on the elevator and tour starts from the 4th floor that makes its way down to ground level. The attractions include various activities such as editing a music track. Disappointingly, some of the kiosks did not work or there was a long wait as others took their time causing a backlog. It is a good way to spend an hour with kids or if you like techie activities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Take your kids here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Teenagers will love this place. It's very interactive and have video games to play. It was interesting and FREE!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sony Wonder Technology Lab also viewed

 

Been to Sony Wonder Technology Lab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sony Wonder Technology Lab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.