We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot near Chinatown and Little Italy....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #189 of 452 Hotels in New York City
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Spot near Chinatown and Little Italy....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The folks at the hotel were very helpful and accommodating and the room was always clean and tidy! The only thing is that there are no great breakfast spots within a couple of blocks, but if you don't mind walking for 10 minutes there are a couple of good ones. Yet the continental breakfasts at the hotel are enough to get a person going, if you are budget minded. The views from the hotel are not that great on the north side of the building, but I can't comment on the south side. Overall the hotel is a great spot if being close to lower Manhattan is your objective and this is a hotel to really consider. Enjoy your stay - we did!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for selecting to stay at our hotel when you were in NYC. We appreciate your feedback and I will certainly celebrate with my team what they are doing well. There are some nice breakfast restaurants in SoHo that the team can recommend, if you would prefer a different breakfast than the one we provide. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    336
    80
    13
    13
See reviews for
171
290
63
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel is good. I spent just one night. Its pretty decent. Breakfast was include. The room was very clean and comfortable. Love the shower!! walking distance to the subway!!!! Totally worth it. I recommend. The only downside is the area around... not too cute, but it didn't bother me.

Room Tip: U may think its far from Times Square... but its just some metro stations down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the hotel. Times Square and anywhere in NYC is so easy to get to with the Subway system on Grand or Canal Street stations (close to the hotel). We hope you will be able to stay with us for a longer stay in the future.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Hello,

We stayed at the hotel during pride weekend and we liked the place overall. It's not high-end but it's located close to good restaurants, bars and not far from Tribeca. We would stay again if we could get a good rate -- our reservation was last minute so we overpaid, considerably. Pretty decent breakfast, overall.

Room Tip: High floor away from the elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We appreciate you selecting our hotel and sharing your experience with others on TripAdvisor. This is certainly a great area for wonderful restaurants and shopping. You did stay with us on a high demand time and last minute, many times our less expensive rooms have already sold out. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I was meeting up for a G Adventures trip from New York to New Orleans which would include a lot of camping. I would arrive in New York a few days before the trip was to begin, so I thought I would stay at a higher quality hotel in order to have a few luxuries before the trip began. The room I stayed in had two large double beds, so I could pick and choose where I slept. They were extremely comfortable, and came with a great number of pillows, which was very much appreciated. The bathroom was very spacious, and the power shower was very much as advertised. Free internet was available, and the breakfast was of a high quality. The hotel's location was particularly good for me, as the local subway stations were very close (Bowery J/Z lines and Grand Street B/D Lines) and allowed quick access to lower Manhattan, and the ability to get up to Central Park and beyond. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and did all they could to help. The hotel have a luggage store, and I was able to make use of this on my last day before I left, which was extremely helpful. I would stay here again if I was in New York, and would advise anyone else to stay too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you so much for selecting our hotel for your first time to the USA. I am so glad we were such a great stay prior to you also exploring New Orleans. It wounds like a wonderful trip. We appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and sharing your experience with others. I will certainly celebrate your kind words with my staff. We hope you will return to NYC again and stay with us in the future.

All the best!
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Our second last day (Saturday July 12) in NYC, we received a voicemail message left at around 1:20pm at our hotel room from the front desk that they had received a complaint that was accusing us that we were smoking or smell of smoke coming from our room. We couldn't believe this as my wife and I have never smoked in our entire lives. This didn't make any sense to us as we left the hotel that morning to go shopping just before 10am and did not return back to our room until after 5pm the same day. We have shopping receipts to prove that we were out shopping. In addition, we were not around anyone who were smoking at all their clothes and breath will smell of smoke. When we came back from our shopping trip, we noticed that the main hallway smelled of cigarette smoke, but when we went into our room, there was no smoking smell. We did noticed that there was a hint of curry bbq smell that maybe the housekeeper had for lunch as there was a curry bbq vendor cart at the corner of Grand and Bowery. We went to the front desk and complain about the voicemail accusing us of smoking in our room. The evening front desk guy did not know what we were talking about as he was not aware of any messages left from the morning. My wife did tell the font desk guy that she saw a guest with a box of cigarettes in his hand when we were taking the elevator down that morning on our way to go shopping. The evening guy told us to check back with the morning guy as he was the one that left the voicemail message. On our last day (Sunday) morning, we talked to the morning guy and he apologized for the voicemail. However, we are still unhappy because as guests in your hotel, you cannot accuse guests that they are smokers without any proof. Usually guests who are smokers have a yellowish discoloration on their skin between their index and middle finger when they hold a cigarette. Also, a smoker's clothes and their breath will smell of smoke. This is why we gave a "Poor" rating. If we didn't get any complaints, the hotel could have earned "Very Good". There was also road construction in front of hotel. The room, the service and cleanliness were very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
My sincere apologies about the terrible way you had to end your stay with us. That is certainly unacceptable. Although we do take smoking in our 100% non-smoking hotel very serious, your experience was not handled properly. I have addressed it with my entire team and we have come to an agreement how to better handle this in the future. I do appreciate your feedback, so we can address it and improve in the future. I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in NYC. Please email me directly if you will be returning to NYC and would like to stay with us and I will personally make sure you are well cared for.

Sincerely,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I brought a group of 14 to the hotel last week. It was quiet, secure, and clean. Best of all were the front desk staff who helped everyone find their way around. Breakfast was the basic chain hotel breakfast but with good coffee and an outdoor seating area that was quiet and secluded. I would stay again if coming to this part of NYC.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your NYC trip. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I am so glad you were able to enjoy the rooftop patio for your breakfast. I think it is a wonderful way to start the morning. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The area is bustling with "Little Italy" and "Chinatown" shoppers by day and the area is quite congested. However this hotel, , whose lobby is actually a couple floors up, provided an oasis of quiet and organization. The room was fine with features one expects--in room coffee maker, etc. but the included breakfast was better than most places. An added treat is one can take their breakfast out onto lower rooftop eating area ( in the shade) . The check in personnel were busy but always polite. As with many BW hotels, shop around for dates, etc for best prices.

Room Tip: No real problems in the room I had which I believe did face a street. Other buildings seem to muffl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your NYC stay and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I also find the hotel to be an oasis away from all the hustle and bustle of NYC. I am so glad you were able to enjoy breakfast on the patio. It is a wonderful way to start your day. Please come stay with us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#142 Family Hotel in New York City
#171 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.