We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable in busy neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #186 of 452 hotels in New York City
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable in busy neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The area is bustling with "Little Italy" and "Chinatown" shoppers by day and the area is quite congested. However this hotel, , whose lobby is actually a couple floors up, provided an oasis of quiet and organization. The room was fine with features one expects--in room coffee maker, etc. but the included breakfast was better than most places. An added treat is one can take their breakfast out onto lower rooftop eating area ( in the shade) . The check in personnel were busy but always polite. As with many BW hotels, shop around for dates, etc for best prices.

Room Tip: No real problems in the room I had which I believe did face a street. Other buildings seem to muffl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your NYC stay and taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I also find the hotel to be an oasis away from all the hustle and bustle of NYC. I am so glad you were able to enjoy breakfast on the patio. It is a wonderful way to start your day. Please come stay with us again soon!

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    331
    78
    12
    13
See reviews for
168
288
61
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Chose this Hotel on location & price, I wasn't disappointed, comfy beds helpful staff, clean hotel that's all I required as I wasn't planning to spend much time in my room.
location was great, close to Soho & cabs are everywhere, no idea about the breakfast as that didn't interest me...recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
It is so great to hear that our hotel met your needs while you were in NYC. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor to assist future travelers. I am glad you were able to enjoy the great neighborhoods around the hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, A Very Nice Hotel ...Just in between China Town and little Italy in Manhattan!

Good room sizes......friendly staff........besides Jeffery at front desk, everyone else was just great and very helpful!!

very clean place, small but reasonable & included breakfast...... Good location.....walking distance to subways and many many restaurants...

Highly recommend!


happy travelling

Room Tip: ask for higher floors or rooms facing backyard....busy street and construction happening in front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Repeating many of the other posts, there were positives and negatives
PRO: Very friendly staff, clean, free breakfast, close to a subway stop, comfortable beds, relatively spacious rooms for NYC, room was not ready when we arrived early so they stored our bags while we ventured out into the city.

CON: filthy streets, construction everywhere, no parking (2 out of the three lots nearby were full; the third, luckily had openings for $39/day), very thin walls so you can hear everyone in the halls, the smell of fish from the streets prevents opening the windows, no view/filthy windows from construction outside, no place to pull up in front of the hotel to unpack unless you pull on to the sidewalk.

Typical Chinatown sights, sounds and smells. Fish stalls on the streets from hotel to subway are very interesting but the smell can be overwhelming. We enjoyed our stay but would not stay here again due to the location.

Room Tip: Ask for at the end of a hallway to avoid people walking past your room at night or early morning. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor to assist future guests in planning their travels. We do appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed our hotel. The location is certainly not for everyone. There is an option to use the Canal Street subway station, that is a few blocks further away, but walks you through SoHo and Little Italy instead of the fish markets by the Grand Street station. This location does lead itself to amazing fresh fruit and fantastic restaurants of many different cultures. We do recommend a parking garage a block and a half from the hotel on Chrystie Street and Hester that offers a discount of $35 for our guests, that our staff is happy to provide directions too. Many guests do unload in front of the hotel, but is does need to be done quickly while there is one lane of traffic due to construction. The construction will be completed in July 2014, which will assist with unloading quite a bit. We do appreciate you staying with us and are sorry to hear that you will not be returning.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 10 days. I was there for a wedding in Little Italy and for site seeing. The hotel was in a great location for all of my activities. I loved being able to walk everywhere. The entire staff of the hotel was incredible. I have never been treated so well. They were informative, funny and very warm. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking time to review our hotel. I will certainly share your kind review with my team. They are a wonderful group of people that truly enjoy working in hospitality. Our location is great for walking and seeing so many wonderful neighborhoods that NYC has to offer. Please come stay with us again soon!

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177'
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We just returned from a seven-night stay in NYC. We needed to be near Little Italy for a wedding, and chose this hotel because of the reasonable price and Trip Advisor reviews. The hotel is quiet, for a large hotel, and was very clean. Great shower and beds were comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and there was a very clean patio to eat in. The best part of our experience here was the staff. They were friendly, helpful, and answered all our questions about directions, subways, etc... We want to say "thank you" to Jeffrey, Sean, Hugh, and Melissa, for making us feel at home, and treating us so kindly. We would definitely stay here again, and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting NYC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
I am so thrilled to hear about your wonderful stay with us. I am so proud of my team and all they do to provide personalized service to our guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with them. Our location is certainly great to be close to Little Italy. I hope you were able to enjoy the great food and shopping in the area. It is great that you were able to enjoy breakfast on the outdoor patio too. Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for many reasons. The location was fun, the morning breakfast was convenient, our room was clean and spacious, but what really stood out was the employees. They were so friendly and helpful-especially Jeff! We had a great stay.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We appreciate your very kind review of the Best Western Bowery Hanbee hotel. Thank you for staying with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and took advantage of our location in the NYC neighborhoods. I will certainly share your review with my team and especially Jeffrey. We look forward to you next stay with us.

All the best,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#159 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.