We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommend it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #200 of 458 Hotels in New York City
France Lynch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“recommend it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Hotel accommodations are quite luxurious and unique, I will fondly remember my stay at for a long time to come. very very nice hotel...it is greatful to me...like it and thank to all staff very helpful. amazing rooms...nice stay and comfortable. like it. recommend it.

Room Tip: nice rooms view neat and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful recommendation. We are so excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and what our hotel had to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    364
    87
    16
    13
See reviews for
176
316
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here in May, great location. Close to Metro, walking distance to Chinatown and Little Italy. Reception staff were extremely pleasant and very helpful. Breakfast had a good selection for a continental. Breakfast room was a bit small. Rooms were clean and a decent size. Only issue we had was traffic noise at night. It's NY, I don't know if there's any where quiet in Manhattan. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I love hearing great things about the staff. They really do a great job welcoming our guests to NYC. I will certainly share your comments with the team. Our outdoor patio is now open for breakfast, which helps with the small breakfast area and it is so nice to enjoy breakfast outside. If you are sensitive to noise, our high floor rooms and rooms with one queen beds (not on the street side) are the quietest. If you let us know in advanced we will note it on your reservation. We do have double paned windows on the street side and if you close the bathroom door, it helps with noise as well. We appreciate you staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We hope to see you again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lylte
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Two female friends visited this hotel both first timers to New York. This hotel was part of a BA hotel and flight deal. It was very cheap! We were not expecting much.
We were concerned about the location in China town and getting about to see the sights. (being 1st timers we wanted to do all the usual stuff). We thought China town wouldn't be very convenient.
We were wrong!
On arrival to the hotel we were greeted warmly by the staff and allowed in the room some time later. We requested and were granted a quiet room high up as we were aware of the construction issues below.
The room was large for a city location and perfectly adequate. Two Queen size beds which were comfortable and a decent bathroom..
Breakfast was a nice freebie. Not the best New York had to offer of course but it was free!
What makes this hotel special is the staff. A special mention to the lovely Hugh who every day was helpful as we presented him with our map and he gave simple instructions on the New York subway system for us to get to our chosen destination. Thanks Hugh!
Whizzing around on subways is really the best way to get around New York and you can arrive in most places within 5_15 mins.
China town itself doesn't have much to offer to offer a tourist really. It is a bit grim. Little Italy which really is about 5 mins walk from the hotel has quite a few nice restaurants and we spent a few nice evenings. Basically though this hotel is just a comfortable base for people to rest and then set out to explore further afield.

So to sum up you can pay more to be in more midtown but if you do you will still have to catch subways to get to places so save some money and stay here. Excellent for subway links. Excellent staff and excellent price! Would stay again!!!!
Thanks all.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
It is so wonderful to hear that the Best Western Bowery was such a great fit for your NYC trip. We really appreciate you selecting our hotel and taking the time to write such a detailed review to assist future travelers. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Hugh and my team. They are all truly amazing! We are thrilled that the overnight construction was completed in March. They are doing some daytime re-building of the sidewalks, curbs and roads, but it is not nearly as disruptive. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are in NYC.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a servicable hotel that gets you a night's sleep and a place to call your hub, but certainly wont go down in history as the epic luxury plaza. It's just fine. Nothing fancy, but decent.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean but small. We were located literally right next to the ice machine which was unbelievably noisy.

The neighborhood is Chinatown so be prepared. It's not mid- or uptown manhattan, so this part of town is cramped, busy, and dirty. Lots of construction tightens up the sidewalk and the smell of cigarette smoke and open-air fish markets is fairly inescapable.

The housekeeping service was great.

Only complaint was the general maintenance level. An elevator went down on day one making it really difficult to catch an elevator, the vending machine on my floor did not work, and the post-breakfast garbage cans in the eating area were literally overflowing. Not attractive.

Otherwise, you need a place to crash, it's affordable and fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are sincerely appreciative of your candid comments about our hotel, so we can celebrate what we do well an improve where we can. I am glad that the staff took good care of you. My sincere apologies about the elevator. It has been problematic and the quick fixes were not working. The elevator company has assured us that they have found the cause and repaired it. We are changing vending companies that will provide a high level of quality and service to our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to surpass your needs and wishes the next time you are in NYC.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Make no mistake, this hotel is in Chinatown. There are fish, food, and flower stands up and down both sides of the street. The nights I was there, there were more French-speaking folks there than any other language. Staff was stellar, room was great, shower head was fabulous, free breakfast was generous, and it's two blocks from Little Italy. For the money, I was ecstatic about my decision to stay here. Be sure to stop at Ferrara's just up the street!

Room Tip: Costs extra to have them watch your luggage if you need to hang around after check-out time, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Love your headline! I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel. I will certainly share your comments with the staff to keep doing the great job they are doing. Thank you for selecting our hotel for your NYC trip and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

we turned up unexpectedly early at 9-ish morning instead of what we had previously advised eta @6pm. only having the thought to store our luggages but was offered a room to check in.... first good news
Mr Hugh who attended us even offered us to consume the bfast which will be closing in 10min time.... second good news
a ring call to the front desk for an additional towel was immediately being delivered to our room.
i have all praises to the services in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am so pleased to hear about the excellent service Hugh and the team provided to you you during your stay with us at the Best Western Bowery. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

When our senior class was staying in the Best Western hotel, we were ready to leave the moment we walked in . There wasn't any hot water in the hotel, there was mildew on the floors, and some of the rooms only had one bed for four people. It was the worst hotel I've ever been in my whole life. I will never attend a Best Western hotel again.

Room Tip: Just don't check in you will be disappointed
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a pleasant or acceptable stay with us. I do not remember ever not having hot water. We did have two days in the past year that the city shut down the water for 2-6 hours and certainly tried to communicate that to our guests. Please contact me below if you feel there was an error in your bed type and I am happy to research it. Ensuring guests receive the room type they booked is very important to us.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.