We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent and functional” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #190 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Decent and functional”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This is a servicable hotel that gets you a night's sleep and a place to call your hub, but certainly wont go down in history as the epic luxury plaza. It's just fine. Nothing fancy, but decent.

Front desk staff was extremely helpful and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient. The room was clean but small. We were located literally right next to the ice machine which was unbelievably noisy.

The neighborhood is Chinatown so be prepared. It's not mid- or uptown manhattan, so this part of town is cramped, busy, and dirty. Lots of construction tightens up the sidewalk and the smell of cigarette smoke and open-air fish markets is fairly inescapable.

The housekeeping service was great.

Only complaint was the general maintenance level. An elevator went down on day one making it really difficult to catch an elevator, the vending machine on my floor did not work, and the post-breakfast garbage cans in the eating area were literally overflowing. Not attractive.

Otherwise, you need a place to crash, it's affordable and fine.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
We are sincerely appreciative of your candid comments about our hotel, so we can celebrate what we do well an improve where we can. I am glad that the staff took good care of you. My sincere apologies about the elevator. It has been problematic and the quick fixes were not working. The elevator company has assured us that they have found the cause and repaired it. We are changing vending companies that will provide a high level of quality and service to our guests. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to surpass your needs and wishes the next time you are in NYC.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    344
    84
    14
    13
See reviews for
173
296
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Make no mistake, this hotel is in Chinatown. There are fish, food, and flower stands up and down both sides of the street. The nights I was there, there were more French-speaking folks there than any other language. Staff was stellar, room was great, shower head was fabulous, free breakfast was generous, and it's two blocks from Little Italy. For the money, I was ecstatic about my decision to stay here. Be sure to stop at Ferrara's just up the street!

Room Tip: Costs extra to have them watch your luggage if you need to hang around after check-out time, which i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Love your headline! I am so glad that you enjoyed the hotel. I will certainly share your comments with the staff to keep doing the great job they are doing. Thank you for selecting our hotel for your NYC trip and taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

we turned up unexpectedly early at 9-ish morning instead of what we had previously advised eta @6pm. only having the thought to store our luggages but was offered a room to check in.... first good news
Mr Hugh who attended us even offered us to consume the bfast which will be closing in 10min time.... second good news
a ring call to the front desk for an additional towel was immediately being delivered to our room.
i have all praises to the services in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I am so pleased to hear about the excellent service Hugh and the team provided to you you during your stay with us at the Best Western Bowery. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

When our senior class was staying in the Best Western hotel, we were ready to leave the moment we walked in . There wasn't any hot water in the hotel, there was mildew on the floors, and some of the rooms only had one bed for four people. It was the worst hotel I've ever been in my whole life. I will never attend a Best Western hotel again.

Room Tip: Just don't check in you will be disappointed
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel. I sincerely apologize that you did not have a pleasant or acceptable stay with us. I do not remember ever not having hot water. We did have two days in the past year that the city shut down the water for 2-6 hours and certainly tried to communicate that to our guests. Please contact me below if you feel there was an error in your bed type and I am happy to research it. Ensuring guests receive the room type they booked is very important to us.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Right in the Heart of Chinatown, near the Grand St. subway...very busy, even for New York. Might be a turn off to some people, but this is a little gem of a hotel. Friendly staff, clean & nicely decorated rooms. Rates were on the reasonable side for New York, but the hotel is a little off the beaten track, but the subway proximity makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the staff. The subway makes it easy to get to anywhere in NYC you would like to go. We hope you will stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Hotel right in the middle of Chinatown - walking around the area was already interesting and provided new impressions. A few subway stations a couple of blocks away in three different directions - so good connections available. Lots of Italian restaurant choices in nearby Little Italy. Hotel itself very friendly, helpful staff. I arrived in the morning hours and was given a room right away- how nice of them. Room interior was modern, bathroom fresh and clean. Bed was ok. My only negative: this was late April and one night was so cold, I was shivering in the room. After experimenting with the Heating/ AC unit, I asked the front desk to help me figure out how to warm up the room and even they could not get Heating to work. Result: the manager told the front desk guy the heat was already TURNED OFF for the Spring and Summer. I got extra blankets and wore my sweater and scarf in bed. Brrrrr - cold room. Overall, a nice hotel with a good breakfast spread.

Room Tip: My room was on the 2nd floor (corridor right behind the lobby) and faced the courtyard. VERY quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate your feedback so we can celebrate what we do well and improve where can. My sincere apologies about the heat. Spring and Fall are challenging to have the correct system on. During those times, it is best to completely turn off the unit. The heated bathroom floors are also nice when it is chilly. There is an extra blanket in the Armoire and we are happy to provide more upon request. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you return to NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Staff is always extremely courteous, pleasant and helpful. It's why my family and I have stayed at this hotel for the past few family reunions. The breakfast is plentiful, beds very comfortable and the king suite very spacious!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thanks so much for returning to stay at Best Western Bowery. We appreciate your business. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my staff. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#178 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.