We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay with comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #245 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Hasselt, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice stay with comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at Best Western in April 2014. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We had a good night sleep with no noises from outside. Breakfast is served every morning until 10 a.m. Breakfast isn't that divers or special, but it's included in the price. The location of the hotel is more downtown, at the border of China Town and Littly Italy, with 3 different subway stations closeby. We had a lovely stay and will definitely come back to Best Western!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. I will certainly share your comments with my team at our daily meeting to continue to focus on what we are doing well. We look forward to you next stay with us!

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    406
    103
    20
    17
See reviews for
203
354
70
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at this hotel last week. The room cost for the whole stay was "authorized" on my credit card at check in which is fair enough. When checking out, the same sum was "authorized" once more from the account, hence twice the cost was held by the hotel and made inaccessible for me. Two days after check out, the room cost was withdrawn again, now making the cost of room X 3 inaccessible. Thus, rather than $833 for three nights, the hotel held $ 2499 on my credit card for more than 9 days, making me completely broke during my stay in the US. So if you don't want to be stranded without money on your vacation, either you choose a different hotel, or you make sure that you have three times the cost for the rooms on your credit card.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
I sincerely apologize for the confusion with your credit card. It is a terrible thing that occurred to you. Upon check in we do authorize the credit card for room, tax and incidentals for the entire stay. At check out, if you use the same credit card, we use the authorization code received upon check in for the charges and any over authorization with drop off when the actual charges go through. It is rare for the card to be authorized and charged many times, but sadly it can occur for numerous reasons and we work with the bank to clear up the over-authorization quickly. If you would like me to look into your situation, so we can ensure everything is corrected, please email me at the address below. We do appreciate your business and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you whenever you are in NYC.

Sincerely,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

If your planning a visit to NYC and looking for a hotel that is away from uptown Manhattan, this is a great Hotel to stay in, very clean large rooms, buffet style breakfast, and very friendly staff.
It is in a great location, China Town and Little Italy on you door step, subway just a few blocks away,

Room Tip: Sorry no pool clicked by accident
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for the kind review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed you time in NYC. We appreciate you selecting our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel for four nights while I was on a business trip.

The hotel is in Chinatown and very close to little Italy. It is a pretty good location, located within walking distance of a subway station and 20 minutes (and around 20 dollars taxi ride) away from Midtown. The location also makes sure that there is cheap dining very close by.

The hotel itself is clean and the room where I stayed was at least spacious and comfortable. The room design however is made so that even the quietest whispers can be heard from the corridor. If you are near the vending machines (that won't always work I must add), expect to hear some mild cursing of other tourists. :)

Each room has a safe to put your valuables in and the bed itself felt very good after long day at work. Good chairs, tables and spacious bathroom makes the room - despite the noise from the corridor - enjoyable experience.

The breakfast was good, pretty much the same that standard American hotel offers so you'll get your belly full before heading out.

There is only one ill thing to say about this hotel and it is the "airport taxi service" which I took to save time (its not impossible to get a normal taxi for this, but I was in a rush). The rate itself is not so different from the flat rate that it costs from JFK to midtown BUT when the driver arrived, when I asked to pay with a credit card he outrageously said that there will be 30% extra for paying with a credit card, despite the fact that the staff said it will be 10%. I kindly asked the driver to stop at the nearest ATM but the drivers "I like the cash" attitude (and he said it too) was something that left a sour taste to my mouth.

All in all a pleasant and decent stay, despite the little noise and greedy taxi driver.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
I am so glad that your time at the hotel was an overall pleasant experience. We really appreciate you sharing your experience, so we can celebrate what we do well and improve where we can. I have shared your comments with our Vending machine vendor and the Airport Shuttle service to immediately correct those issues. We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in NYC for Business or Pleasure.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Me and my husband went to visit New York in August 2013,and we staid one week at this superb hotel.

The Hotel is amazingly clean, The breakfast was super delicious and a great variety, each morning served different food.

The staff very friendly, very helpful with information about trips and busses.

They have computers in the lobby that you can use for free.

The hotel is placed in China Town but 2 minutes away is Little Italy, and 5 minutes walk is The Broadway with loads of shops. You can stroll on a nice walk for 30 minutes to the ferry port where you can take the ferry to Statue of Liberty.

You don't hear any noises from the others rooms or from outside, there is air con. in the rooms.



I would definitely recommend this hotel because its really clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly, and the food amazing!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
What a nice review of our Best Western Bowery Hanbee! Thank you so much for staying with us and reviewing our hotel. It sounds like you had an amazing time while in NYC. It is so wonderful to hear you had such a great time. Please come back and stay with us again soon.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Clean. Functional. Good carb based breakfast. Friendly staff. Good WiFi. Small rooms. Very well placed for China town. Great base for lower Manhattan. Would use again. Quiet for Manhattan. Reception on second floor.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Thank you for your very concise review. It is a great way to share your experience with future visitors to NYC. We appreciate you selecting our hotel and hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This hotel was good value for money, located a block from the subway and around 25mins in total from midtown. It is close to the East Village and within walking distance of the Brooklyn Bridge and the financial district. The room was an okay size, although a second chair would have been nice. The bed was comfortable and a fair size and the street noise wasn't too loud considering how busy the area is. A free breakfast helped us save money and included a waffle maker. However, the breakfast room was very small and crowded. We had to queue for a table a number of times. The staff were helpful and friendly, and allowed us to move away from the noisy vending machine on our second night. (Sean in particular was great arranging taxis to the airport etc). The layout of the rooms is a little odd, with the bathroom by the window, the bed next to the corridor and poor internal sound-proofing. This meant that we were frequently disturbed by noise from the corridor. Especially when we were put next to the vending machine which people used throughout the night, although we were allowed to change floor away from this machine when we asked. Also, there was no way to prevent light coming through the large window in the bathroom and into the bedroom through the frosted internal window - fine for us in winter, but it could be awful in summer. There also were lots of large groups of young people staying there, although these seemed well behaved.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are probably a bit quieter. Avoid a floor with a vending machine in the corr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting your experiences, so we can improve. I will certainly celebrate with Sean and my staff your comments. We apologize that the noise detracted from your stay. When we are notified of a guest sensitivity to noise, we certainly try to accommodate them in one of our quieter rooms. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to service you the next time you at in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#282 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Chinatown
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
Wyndham Garden Chinatown
#116 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#160 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Side
Holiday Inn NYC - Lower East Sid...
#141 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Near Financial District
Comfort Inn Near Financial Distr...
#241 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Chinatown
Sohotel
Sohotel
#264 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#167 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.