We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable accommodation with good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #184 of 451 hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Reasonable accommodation with good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for nine nights and experienced a comfortable and carefree accommodation. Our room had a very good bed and a window into the courtyard which minimized any noise from the street. The hotel service, including breakfast and cleaning and staff, was flawless. The breakfast could however been better but it served its purpose. The location of the hotel suited us very good since we prioritized closeness to the subway (several subway lines is within walking distance) and downtown places of interests, such as The Statue of Liberty and the 9/11 Memorial. A extra plus was that free and well functioning wifi was available in our room and that the reception provided access to free computers and a printer which is a must for printing out vouchers etceteras. Overall we think that the hotel was above average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with high location and with a window into the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for sharing your experience, so others can make the best decision for accommodations in NYC. You were hear for a good amount of time to see so much of what the city has to offer. We are so glad to hear our Best Western Bowery met your needs. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    295
    325
    78
    12
    13
See reviews for
165
285
61
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

The hotel is well situated for Nolita, Chinatown, and generally downtown. Staff are friendly, rooms are smallish, standard, clean design, and fine. The price... well, I booked online and by accident thought that it said 320 for three nights. Uh-uh. It was 320 a night, and I thought even for Manhattan that was a bit overpriced!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and have not bad views if you are high enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and posting a review to TripAdvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so sorry about the mis-understanding on the rate. Our rates are based upon demand, December can have some of the highest rates all year with Christmas in the City activities and shopping and New Years Eve. There are some great offers in January and February right now. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here with my family. The front desk people were friendly and responded to our needs. The location was perfect as we walked out of the hotel Chinatown was right there and about two blocks was Little Italy. Subway was about a block away and a park for children was right there. Only downer was breakfast. We ate out 3 times during a 7 day stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It is so great to hear you enjoyed our hotel and location. Please let me know what we can improve on breakfast. We strive to provide a delicious hot breakfast buffet with various options everyday with a good core of hot and cold favorites. We look forward to your next stay with us.

All the best!

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

There is nothing hugely wrong with this hotel, but nothing great about it either. Rooms are clean and fairly modern, while an average NY size (i.e. small). Reception area is cramped. I didn't like the location - too far from useful subway lines and an instantly forgettable part of the city. Its on the edges of chinatown and close to little italy, which are interesting areas to see for an afternoon but you don't really want to stay there if you have an option.

Move the hotel a few blocks west and it'd be a good option.

The main negative about the hotel was there was significant street construction work going on outside in the middle of the night - this was very noisy and led to very poor sleep. The hotel isn't a mid-town hirise, so there was really no escaping the noise. This isn't the hotel's fault, but it didn't make me want to rush back.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably better to escape street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback about our hotel, so future guests can make an informed decision about where they stay. I sincerely apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us and the unique NYC neighborhood experience our hotel is located in. The underground construction (the noisy overnight project) is scheduled to conclude March 2014. We hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

this place is a good deal. the room was clean, with a very comfortable bed. The personnel was very helpful, even at 1:00 AM. The breakfast was OK, although not a miraculous. Overall, very good experience and would book it again if heading to the same area.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee for 4 nights before Christmas. Excellent location--centrally located next to Little Italy and Soho, close to subways, accessible to every type of ethnic food imaginable. I researched thoroughly and chose this hotel because of the little bit of extra space in our double room. The extra 25 sq ft made the space for our family of four much more manageable. Total area 300 sq ft., above norm for rooms in NYC. We appreciated the spaciousness of the bathroom, with heated floors! Loved the fact that there was a window in the bathroom so we could get fresh air to circulate into the room. Loved the free breakfast! Don't know why people complain about the quality of breakfast--available items included hot oatmeal, whole fruits, cereals, hot eggs and a different type of breakfast meat daily, breads i.e. bagels/English muffins, Danish and bran muffins, and coffee/juice. Any other hotel would charge $12+ for continental breakfast. There is a street cart right at the corner for whatever you crave! My kids felt safe walking around the shops and to the subway. Only wish they had a larger closet--it was a free standing wardrobe. Also, the outside noise could not be helped because of constant construction. But we were so exhausted at night we didn't hear it. Weekend rates a little higher than weekdays, average $160 per night. Loved Hugh and Jeffrey for their excellent service! Fabulous stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your research on TripAdvisor. I find our rooms a good size compared to most Manhattan hotels. I will certainly share your feedback with my team, especially Hugh and Jeffrey - they are amazing! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reasonably priced; easy access to subway; walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, the rest of the LES....what more could you ask for? Oh wait...the staff - Jeff, Sean, Hugh, and everyone else were friendly, responsive, and generous with helpful information; complimentary breakfast offered a great deal of choice; the rooms were clean and comfortable. Be aware, though, that there is a city construction project underway right by the hotel.
For those flying into EWR and travelling light, the easiest and cheapest way to get to the hotel would be by Airtrain to NY Penn Station ($12.50 one way), then any subway ride (downtown) to W4th Street station, where you can transfer to the downtown B or D Train. Get off at the Grand St. stop and walk a block west across the Bowery to find the hotel. Alternatively, you can just take a cab from NY Penn Station to the hotel (Bowery & Grand); the cab ride will cost approx. $12-15 depending on traffic conditions. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside" room (not facing Grand St. or the Bowery) to avoid construction/traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You provided great helpful hints for our future guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my team. We appreciate your feedback, so we can focus and improve on what we do well. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
#157 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.