We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and spacious!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #200 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Los angeles, United States
1 review
“Fab and spacious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed at the Best Western Bowery Hanbee for 4 nights before Christmas. Excellent location--centrally located next to Little Italy and Soho, close to subways, accessible to every type of ethnic food imaginable. I researched thoroughly and chose this hotel because of the little bit of extra space in our double room. The extra 25 sq ft made the space for our family of four much more manageable. Total area 300 sq ft., above norm for rooms in NYC. We appreciated the spaciousness of the bathroom, with heated floors! Loved the fact that there was a window in the bathroom so we could get fresh air to circulate into the room. Loved the free breakfast! Don't know why people complain about the quality of breakfast--available items included hot oatmeal, whole fruits, cereals, hot eggs and a different type of breakfast meat daily, breads i.e. bagels/English muffins, Danish and bran muffins, and coffee/juice. Any other hotel would charge $12+ for continental breakfast. There is a street cart right at the corner for whatever you crave! My kids felt safe walking around the shops and to the subway. Only wish they had a larger closet--it was a free standing wardrobe. Also, the outside noise could not be helped because of constant construction. But we were so exhausted at night we didn't hear it. Weekend rates a little higher than weekdays, average $160 per night. Loved Hugh and Jeffrey for their excellent service! Fabulous stay and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your research on TripAdvisor. I find our rooms a good size compared to most Manhattan hotels. I will certainly share your feedback with my team, especially Hugh and Jeffrey - they are amazing! We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    364
    87
    16
    13
See reviews for
176
316
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Reasonably priced; easy access to subway; walking distance to Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, the rest of the LES....what more could you ask for? Oh wait...the staff - Jeff, Sean, Hugh, and everyone else were friendly, responsive, and generous with helpful information; complimentary breakfast offered a great deal of choice; the rooms were clean and comfortable. Be aware, though, that there is a city construction project underway right by the hotel.
For those flying into EWR and travelling light, the easiest and cheapest way to get to the hotel would be by Airtrain to NY Penn Station ($12.50 one way), then any subway ride (downtown) to W4th Street station, where you can transfer to the downtown B or D Train. Get off at the Grand St. stop and walk a block west across the Bowery to find the hotel. Alternatively, you can just take a cab from NY Penn Station to the hotel (Bowery & Grand); the cab ride will cost approx. $12-15 depending on traffic conditions. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for an "inside" room (not facing Grand St. or the Bowery) to avoid construction/traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You provided great helpful hints for our future guests. I will certainly celebrate your comments with my team. We appreciate your feedback, so we can focus and improve on what we do well. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I stay regularly in NYC and enjoy the Best Western Bowery Hanbee hotel for its excellent value and great location near Little Italy, Chinatown, SOHO, and subway stations. The hotel has free breakfast and excellent free high speed internet. A great place for either business or vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We appreciate your review and choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your next stay!

All the best!

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Pros:
1 Minutes walk from Subway;
More than 10 items (warm and cold) to choose from in their breakfast;
Their Washroom has HEATED FLOORING!!! this is Great in winters - loved it!!
They have a food truck within 30 meters serving Halal Food.
Friendly staff.
Business center with printing facility.
They allow for order in.

Cons:
They don't have on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floor they better, as this hotel is in the middle of Chinatown, and it can be a bit noisy eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and took the time to share your insights on our hotel with others. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was a real good one. Once you get there it is easy to make your New York experience with the subway access. Good stuff walking distance too. China Town, Little Italy, Nolita, Lower East Side. Subway right up to Midtown and over to Murray Hill, Turtle Bay or up to Upper East Side, Museum Mile

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed our New York City neighborhoods while you stayed with us. I see new things everytime I go for a walk. The accessibility from the hotel to anywhere in the City is easy with the Subway station so close to us. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Please come stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

All the best!

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were expecting the place to be in little italy but it's located in China town. But our room was facing inside which means very quiet and all nights we slept really well. The hotel staff were always polite and friendly. The breakfast was good. I loved the freshly baked waffle and their coffee was good. There are plenty of places to eat nice breakfast in NYC but if you eat out 3 meals a day could be very costly, so a free breakfast really did help us. The only thing we were not expecting was our room did not have a bath tub. The room had a safe box and wifi internet which was very handy. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay at our hotel and taking the time to write the review of our hotel. I will certainly celebrate with my team what they are doing well. They are a great group of people. The interior rooms have a single queen bed and shower only. Our rooms with two queen beds and the King suites have bath tubs. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel, the location for us was second to none, the room was great, clean, comfy beds, tv - work is going on outside the hotel but it never bothered us, breakfast was more than enough, and coffee available 24 hours a day!!
The whole staff team were so helpful especially john and Shaun who helped direct me on my first ever subway trip alone, thank you.
We have had the best stay in NYC and got the most out of our stay with help from all the staff - thank you :-)))

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review of our Best Western Bowery Hotel. We appreciate you staying at our hotel. I will certainly share your review with my team and celebrate John & Sean! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our area. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.