We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Great Value - Perfect place to stay in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #201 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Great Value - Perfect place to stay in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Pros:
1 Minutes walk from Subway;
More than 10 items (warm and cold) to choose from in their breakfast;
Their Washroom has HEATED FLOORING!!! this is Great in winters - loved it!!
They have a food truck within 30 meters serving Halal Food.
Friendly staff.
Business center with printing facility.
They allow for order in.

Cons:
They don't have on site restaurant.

Room Tip: Higher floor they better, as this hotel is in the middle of Chinatown, and it can be a bit noisy eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and took the time to share your insights on our hotel with others. We look forward to your next visit to our hotel.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    364
    87
    16
    13
See reviews for
176
316
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bayport, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was a real good one. Once you get there it is easy to make your New York experience with the subway access. Good stuff walking distance too. China Town, Little Italy, Nolita, Lower East Side. Subway right up to Midtown and over to Murray Hill, Turtle Bay or up to Upper East Side, Museum Mile

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
So wonderful to hear you enjoyed our New York City neighborhoods while you stayed with us. I see new things everytime I go for a walk. The accessibility from the hotel to anywhere in the City is easy with the Subway station so close to us. Thank you for staying with us and reviewing the hotel. Please come stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

All the best!

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were expecting the place to be in little italy but it's located in China town. But our room was facing inside which means very quiet and all nights we slept really well. The hotel staff were always polite and friendly. The breakfast was good. I loved the freshly baked waffle and their coffee was good. There are plenty of places to eat nice breakfast in NYC but if you eat out 3 meals a day could be very costly, so a free breakfast really did help us. The only thing we were not expecting was our room did not have a bath tub. The room had a safe box and wifi internet which was very handy. We'd definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay at our hotel and taking the time to write the review of our hotel. I will certainly celebrate with my team what they are doing well. They are a great group of people. The interior rooms have a single queen bed and shower only. Our rooms with two queen beds and the King suites have bath tubs. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I would highly recommend this hotel, the location for us was second to none, the room was great, clean, comfy beds, tv - work is going on outside the hotel but it never bothered us, breakfast was more than enough, and coffee available 24 hours a day!!
The whole staff team were so helpful especially john and Shaun who helped direct me on my first ever subway trip alone, thank you.
We have had the best stay in NYC and got the most out of our stay with help from all the staff - thank you :-)))

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for the very kind review of our Best Western Bowery Hotel. We appreciate you staying at our hotel. I will certainly share your review with my team and celebrate John & Sean! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and our area. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Ignoring the construction outside (not the hotel's fault), the location and quality of the room was very good. The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was satisfactory (good options, on par with any Best Western), and the room and bathroom were very clean. Only minor criticisms might be the size of the room (but who goes to New York to hang out in a hotel room?), and the mattress sank to the centre a little. Still, being within walking distance to Little Italy and SoHo, out of the major bustle of Midtown, but only a block from the B and D line, it was perfect for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We appreciate you selecting our hotel and writing the review. Thank you for the feedback. If you can provide me with the room you stayed in, we will look at the mattess. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us. Please stay with us the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over Thanksgiving using Priceline. Room was spacious enough for the 4 of us. Note that if you use priceline, this hotel charges extra for 2 double beds. Room was clean and the hotel is close to the subway and great restaurants in Chinatown and Little Italy. Some may say it's out of the way, but if you're familiar with NY and comfortable with the subway, it's a great value for NYC. Only complaint is they ran out of breakfast the day after Thanksgiving and the poor woman refilling the food trays seemed annoyed. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our neighborhood. Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I appreciate your feedback about breakfast, so we can improve. We have a llimited number of rooms with two beds and they are very popular, so they are priced higher than the rooms with one bed, no matter how you book them. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

This hotel has a very contemporary feel, while still being comfortable. The rooms are not nearly as small as I thought they would be. The staff was so helpful, and friendly. I would definitely stay here again. The location was great, near little Italy and the BD subway stop, which lets you get anywhere in the city. I was expecting less, and was very pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
I am so glad to hear our hotel was a pleasant surprise for you. It is wonderful that you enjoyed the hotel and the great location. It is very easy to get anywhere in NYC from here. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#130 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.