We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #199 of 459 Hotels in New York City
lawrence, ks
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel is located in China town & only 2 blocks from Little Italy. We arrived early but they had a room ready for us which we really appreciated as we had an early morning flight. The room was very nice & really clean. Had coffee maker, ironing board, & hair dryer. The elevators were very quick. The continental breakfast was also very good with many choices. The staff was so helpful& always had time for assistance. The only drawback was our room faced the street where they did construction work all night so ask for a room that is not on the street where they are working all night. Was otherwise very good. Would have been nice to have had a foot stool. Bed was comfy.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate you selecting our hotel for your stay in NYC. I will certainly share your wonderful comments with my staff.

As a note, the construction is not noisy every night and as the project comes to a close in the next few months, they are doing less and less jackhammering. The rooms with two queen beds and one king bed are on the street facing side of the building. The rooms with one queen are away from the street - for those that are light sleepers.

We look forward to accommodating you the next time you stay in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    364
    87
    16
    14
See reviews for
177
316
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here August 21-24. We had an invitation from management to stay here again after my initial Trip Advisor review made a comment about the street repair noise at 10PM. We were offered a $199/night rate but more on this later. Our check-in was fast and efficient. Kudos goes to their desk clerk Jeffrey. This time our room was on the 7th floor facing south. It was much quieter without the street noise. The room was small yet it did have a comfortable bed and clean bathroom. There were two drawbacks to the room. First, there was a wardrobe but with no shelves inside. It would have been nice to have some shelves inside that wardrobe instead of having to hang some clothes and then having to use the suitcase for the remaining storage. Second, there was no refrigerator in the room. A small dormitory size refrigerator would have been sufficient to compliment this room. Now back to the room rate. After check in I went to BW reservation web site and checked on AARP rates for the hotel. I found their rates to be lower than the one we were given for our return stay. I went back to the front desk, showed them the difference and was able to save about $105 on our stay. My compliments to Sean for making this happen. The hotel is in a good location, just a block from Grand Street subways station for the B and D lines. One can walk to just about any location from the hotel. We walked to the NYU campus, the Brooklyn Bridge, the Highline, and several good restaurants we found on Open Table. Other observations about this hotel: breakfast is good with a nice selection of items to choose from. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Finally, checking out of the hotel is also fast and efficient. As a member of BW Reward program, I’d consider staying here again if there is room available at a reasonable rate.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side of hotel on higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate your business to our hotel and taking the time to review the hotel. I will certainly recognize Jeffrey and Sean and the rest of the team for making your stay a pleasant one.

Our King Suites do have a microwave and refrigerator in them, if that is important to you. There is some space in the top of the armoire for items that you would not like to hang and a luggage rack in the armoire, if you would like to place your luggage on it in the room during your stay.

Thank you for your comments so we can improve our hotels.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

For expensive new york the hotel is value for money as it is centrally located in downtown new york. The room we stayed in was cleam but rather small for american standards but more thsn adequate for europran or asian standards.
One thing that was off puting was the cockroach on the elevator.
Hopefully they wont attack while you sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel and writing the review about your stay.

There is construction on the streets outside the hotel to put in a new water trunk main. Due to the construction, there have been waterbugs coming into the buildings in the area. We have not seen cockroaches in the hotel and do have pest elimination treatments monthly and as needed. The bug you probably saw was a harmless (though kind of large) waterbug. NYC is working agressively with the waterbugs and it seemed like a problem for only a few weeks. My apologies that you witnessed this issue during your stay with us. We will continue to work with NYC and pest elimination to ensure our property is clean, well maintained and pest free.

We hope that you will stay with us the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Near the metrostop with direct line to Timesquare and other nice locations, so very good location! The hotel was nice with very friendly staff, clean rooms. The breakfast is ok, it's fresh but not a lot of choice and the plates and cups are in plastic. The neighborhood doesn't look very pretty but It's safe, a lot of restaurants near the hotel. The receptiondesk is at the second floor, you have to take the elevator, it's a bit strange but ok. The price was very good compared to other hotels. I would certainly stay there again...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel and assist future guests in making their accommodation decisions. We appreciate that you decided to stay with us.

I will certainly share and celebrate your comments about the clean rooms and friendly staff.

We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is lovely, but in the wrong place. It is in the middle of China town, but clearly as American spa hotel as you can get. The fact that the lobby is on the second floor, and you must use a room key to access the elevator, says security issues. The hotel did not disclose the fact that the street in front of the hotel is completely under construction. I had to walk 2 blocks from the taxi at 11 pm. They did not disclose the noise issue. They also have a 48 hour cancel policy. I also heard staff say that they charge $5 to hold bags on the day of checkout. It is also 2.5 miles from Penn Station, not the .50 miles they state.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and apologize that you felt we did not properly disclose important delatils about our hotel.

It is common for NYC hotels to have their lobbies on upper floors, as street level retail space is at a premium. NYC hotels, as well as many large cities, have key access elevators. This is to ensure our hotel is for guest use only and not that we are in an unsafe area. I have walked in this area at night with my daughters and never felt unsafe.

The construction can certainly be inconvenient, but the water main trunk project is very important in updating the 140 year old utility systems in NYC. We are all working together to get the best results. Most nights we do not have noise or other issues, but some nights it does occur.

If you can provide information where you saw that we were only .5 miles from Penn Station, I will correct that information. We are 2.5 miles from Penn with easy transportation there on the B or D subway lines (a block from the hotel) or by taxi.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to provide superior service to you the next time you are in NYC.

Sincerely,

Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Good location. Border of Chinatown and LIttle Italy. Walking distance to great places to eat. There is no hotel staff at the front door as you enter. You enter and take an elevator up to the main level to check in. Very very difficult to get a taxi in front of hotel. There is no hotel staff to hail a cab. Parking is 2 blocks away. Unable to check in before stated check in time as the rooms were not ready. Several items avail for breakfast but quality of food low quality. Nice roof top area for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and taking the time to review our hotel. I sincerely apologize that our property did not meet your needs. As a select service hotel, we keep our prices down with offering only essential staffing at the front desk, in breakfast, maintenance and housekeeping. The hotel is on the corner of Grand Street and Bowery. Bowery is a major two-way road and the easiest place to hale a taxi. My apoligies if the staff did not provide this information to you. Thank you for your feed back on the breakfast, we are focused on improving the breakfast experience with good variety and quality.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at Bowery Hanbee during our honeymoon.

The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms are not big but well designed, feel comfortable, clean, and inexpensive compared to a lot of other hotels. Neighborhood isn’t that pretty, but the location is pretty good for lower Manhattan and extremely convenient to visiting Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho. The subway lines are within 2 blocks (Grand Street, Bowery or Canal Street subway stations all within walking distance to the hotel).

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen L, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Best Western Bowery and providing feedback on your stay. Your comments assist us in celebrating what we are doing well an improve where we can. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in NYC.

Best Wishes,
Gwen D Lytle
General Manager
212-925-1177
Gwen.Lytle@InterstateHotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in New York City
#183 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#188 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.