We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great family vacation...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246 (Chinatown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #201 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great family vacation...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The staff was great and friendly. The parking was pricy and so are the soda cans $2.50 a can , but besides that we had a great time housekeeping was great and its a very clean hotel I would defenetly recommend others to stay here we're coming bk for sure....thank you

Room Tip: The top floor is great ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    364
    87
    16
    13
See reviews for
176
316
64
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foxboro, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because it was only about 1/2 mile from our son's apartment in the East Village and it was on sale through Kayak.com We had a room on the 9th floor and it was very quiet--no street noise at night, some during the day when there was a parade for the Chinese New Year. The breakfast was surprisingly good: waffles, bagels, muffins, oatmeal, sausage, eggs, toast, yogurt, fruit, etc. A lot of the guests seemed to be visitors from abroad. That and the location in Chinatown gave the hotel an international flavor that we enjoyed. Yes, there were the smells of fish and other foods being sold on the street, but we would take this location over Times Square any day. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is safe.

Room Tip: Higher floors are probably the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in china town, close to a subway station and its dead easy to get uptown from there. But if you're looking for a 'nice' location to stay in, this aint it! Theres a very stinky market stall right next to the hotel meaning every time you walk out the door you gasp in the smell of rotting fish. That said its only a 10 min walk to soho where there are great restaurants and shops.

The street is pretty noisy and there are road works being undertaken at the moment. We had to ask to move the first night because the windows aren't great. The staff are very nice and helpful but moved us to a room with the noisiest heating system I've ever heard. Take earplugs.

Advise if you stay here don't bother with breakfast. It gets you some food but its pretty poor quality and you eat it out of plastic bowls / plates and cutlery. And your crammed into the tiniest most horrible breakfast space I've ever seen!

It's not too expensive for New York overall but if I were you I'd pay a little more and stay in a nicer area with better quality facilities.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for you helpful review. We, as a hotel pride ourselves on our unique and culturally diverse location which is on the border of Chinatown and Little Italy. We are also in the process of sound proofing all of our windows so the noise from the city that never sleeps won't affect our guests. During the warmer days the hotel will be opening a new outdoor patio for our hot breakfast buffet so our guests can enjoy it under the warm sun.

Very warm regards, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, LA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We found this hotel was extremely convenient to visiting Chinatown, Little Italy, and Soho in walking distance. It's actually in Chinatown and really close to the subway station for catching the B and D trains so you can maneuver around the city fast. Recommend getting snacks or breakfast across the street: coffee is good and the pastries are tasty, not too sweet and have lots of simple things as well as interesting variations. There's breakfast at this hotel, but we never went, we preferred to go around and try dim sum around Chinatown (highly recommend it) or get coffee and pastry and any of dozens of little shops all around. Also there are good bagels just four blocks away at Kosser’s bagels. And good doughnuts at the Donut Plant just five blocks away. Amazingly, just that 10 minute walk, the neighborhood totally is different.

The room was small but clean and well-lit, and the bathroom reasonably sized. No bathtub, though, just a very tidy shower. The décor is simple and straightforward, the bathroom looks like Ikea ,and the room had a wardrobe crammed in to the corner: a tight fit to unpack. The reception area is upstairs, again, everything kind of feels crammed in, but it is all really efficient and well-kept and clean. For example: the check in process had a line that moved fast-- we initially groaned when we saw three people in front of us, but the staff is fast and courteous. I think we waited 5 minutes or less. That said, they forgot to put the baby crib though we called ahead for it, but it came about an hour after check-in. We also asked for extra towels and these came more promptly. Towels are nice and big, if not particularly fluffy. The bathroom products are nothing fancy, but smell pleasant, and are fine. If you don't like them, there's tons of convenience stores in the neighborhood or Duane Reade (which is the NYC CVS or Walgreens) all over the city.

The bed is a decent night's sleep, and after a day of walking all over the place, you look forward to a clean, even if tiny room, and a comfy bed. In terms of security, the hotel won't let you go up the elevator to the guest floors without an active card, and the neighborhood is pretty lively, so even late at night, there are lots of people around--felt pretty safe. The front desk is really good about arranging a car service to the airport, the car came on time and we loaded up for the airport pretty fast. Our flight was at 7.25 AM. Newark apparently is pretty close but costs a little extra because of tunnel tolls and going out of state. We got there in 20 minutes. It probably goes without saying that we didn’t get rental car, it’s very easy to get around on the subway and bus, and since the subway is a 3-minute walk from the hotel, it’s a good location.

There is some repair work going on the street: we never heard anything and doesn’t seem particularly disruptive. The location is a fun expedition in to one of NY’s more colorful neighborhoods with quick access to anywhere else in the city. There’s also a street food cart at the corner and we got chicken kebobs as a snack, super-yummy and cheap. I left my hat on the subway and nearby is “Canal Street,” kind of like a street bazaar, and I got a new one for five bucks. I think other posts said they thought this hotel is expensive, but you have to ask, “relative to what?” NY for hotels is expensive anyhow, and if you’re going for a clean, well-located room that doesn’t totally break the bank, it’s going to be small and not going to be really stylish. If you come to NY to hang out in your hotel, this is not necessarily your place. But if you come to enjoy the city and shower/sleep comfortably for another unforgettable day, and you can get that here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
One of the greatest experiences you can have visiting our hotel and our great location is the wonderful restaurants. We have the best Chinese food you can find in Manhattan and the hotel is just 2 blocks from Little Italy where the authentic Italian food wil make you feel as though you are dining in Italy. Just 2 blocks to world famous Canal Street Market where you can find wonderful boutiques and shops for all your shopping needs.

We know as a hotel the most important service we can provide is a clean, comfortable and safe room for you to rest your head after a long day of walking.

We appreciate your wonderful review and cannot wait for you to come visit us again soon. Fondly, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Staff here are all very good and helpful; rooms are clean, comfortable and modern, and the location makes for a different experience of New York being right in the middle of Chinatown. Best of all, the bed was comfortable (I really resent paying to sleep in a bed that's worse than my own!). Breakfast was adequate: best avoid the pastries but everything else was tasty enough.

Tip for eating locally - don't wander into Little Italy and allow someone to tempt you in from the street as we did. Worst meal of my life but unfortunately I can't remember the name of the restaurant.

Only downside of this hotel is the lack of decent views from the windows. But what you get for the cost otherwise is good.

Room Tip: The higher floors are better and inward-facing are quieter than street-facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We realize that the number one priority is for your hotel to be clean and comfortable. Our goal is to create an experience that would remind you of your home away from home. We strive to have the very best staff who can help fulfill every guests need and surpass expectations.

We understand what our guests need and want for a great visit to New York and we work extremely hard to make that happen.

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were in NYC for one night stay. We normally stay at BW in Southport but Hurricane Sandy put it out of service. This was our alternate BW choice. The hotel staff was friendly and courteous both at check in and check out. The location was great for our planned walking tour from the hotel to MakerBot to Mario Battali's Eataly for dinner finally to the Regal Cinema theaters on 42nd Street. There's a B Line subway station less than a block from the hotel on our return from
Time Square. The room had an updated decor but limited storage. The one major distraction was caused by the NYC Streets & Sanitation Dept. They thought it necessary to start jack hammering the street at 10PM to make some repairs. Be advised, there is a lot of street repairs going on the streets around the hotel! The too pricy comment is due the room costing $250+ but adding taxes pushes it over $300/night. The cost per value does not warrant an extended stay.

Room Tip: There's no floor that can avoid the street noise, especially when they are running a jackhammer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn K, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We use each review to better the experience of our future guests. We want every guest to have a quiet and comfortable room during their stay so the hotel is in the process of upgrading our windows to sound proof glass. In addition, we have very competitive rates and we are usually priced lower than our competitors which is amazing because we offer so many complimentary amenities like Free Hot Breakfast, Free business center printing and fax services and Free WiFi included!

We strive to provide outstanding service and a friendly atmosphere. Our location is very convenient to the subway system which can take you anywhere you need to go in New York City. We hope to see you again, please call me directly for a "Trip Advisor Rebooking Deal"

Sincerely, Dawn Marie Klisures/ Director of Sales / 212.925.1177
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel

Address: 231 Grand Street, New York City, NY 10013-4246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Little Italy , Manhattan , SoHo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#131 Family Hotel in New York City
#182 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#187 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel is located in the heart of Chinatown. It is a modern seven story non-smoking hotel with 102 guest rooms. Many of the guest rooms overlook the streets of Chinatown. The property serves a complimentary continental breakfast daily. For the guests convenience all rooms have hairdryers, iron and ironing board, coffeemakers, clock radios, telephones with voice mail and in-room safes. The hotel offers free wireless and hardwired high speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New York City
New York City Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.