We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always go there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Metropolitan Museum of Art
1000 5th Ave, New York City, NY 10028-0198 (Manhattan)
+1 212-535-7710
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$25*
and up
Skip the Line: Metropolitan Museum of Art
Ranked #2 of 634 Attractions in New York City
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: At New York City's most visited museum and attraction, you will experience the best of human creativity from across the globe. With collections spanning more than 5,000 years of culture, from prehistory to the present, the Metropolitan is a journey through the world's greatest art. One Met. Many Worlds. Where will the Met take you?
Staten Island, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“always go there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I live in NY so I go as much as I can. I love the Met it always has something new on display. Everyone should go there at least once..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13,686
    2,842
    503
    76
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Waited a long time to go here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I spent a long afternoon at MOMA. Almost everything about it was wonderful. Clean, art very accessible [surprisingly so in some areas], great variety of art to view. The only negative I have to say is that the guards take their jobs way too seriously. I was reprimanded about three different times. Several times for having my toe over the line of acceptable viewing and once for being discreetly on my cell phone. I was certainly talking in a lower voice than most people were who were just walking around. I guess it was rude to the art to be on my cell phone!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A little bit of a lot of wonderful things!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you have time to visit only one museum in NYC, this is the one. It has paintings, sculptures, mummies, (even a temple transported from Egypt) armor, period rooms, you name it and you can find it here. There's something for everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The day at the Met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Absolutely my favorite museum!! An A plus experience from start to finish! The exhibits a very extensive. The staff at the museum were very helpful. I would recommend spending the additional $7 for the audio guide. The guide gave me a much deeper appreciation than my previous visits without the guide.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn Heights, New York
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The mother of all museums in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't expect to see it all in 1 or2 or 3 or 4 etc visits. We have been going yearly for the past 40 years and each visit is a new experience. You can save it for a rainy day. We enjoy going Fri or Sat night from 5 to 9 when it's open late. Skip the lines at the cafe and go downstairs to the cafeteria. Food is good but not inexpensive.Dont miss the Asian section, the American wing and the impressionist. If you have time for only one museum in NYC this should be your choice

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Metropolitan Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to The Metropolitan Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Metropolitan Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.