We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Packed full of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Church

Trinity Church
74 Trinity Place, Broadway at Wall Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)
(212) 602-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Trinity Church like an insider
Top Rated
$29*
and up
Circle Line: NYC Liberty Cruise
Ranked #89 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally built in 1696-97, the church was the first site of King's College, now Columbia University, and is the burial place of Alexander Hamilton and Robert Fulton.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Packed full of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We visited Trinity church after hearing about it in a Bowery Boys podcast. I'd definitely recommend reading up about the place before visiting to appreciate all the history behind it. The church itself was beautiful with a nice peaceful feeling.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    171
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Having been to Italy and seeing so many beautiful churches there, I really enjoyed seeing Trinity Church. It is just beautiful, both inside and out. I only wish we had visited when it was still light outside, as I think the stained glass would be beautiful to see in the sunlight. The church is a short walk from the 911 Memorial, and definitely worth a visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Welcoming and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The church is beautiful both inside and out. We stopped by on our way from the subway to Ground Zero. My husband purchased a pocket cross in the lovely little gift shop, and we used the facilities, which were clean and readily accessible.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

A great church with an inspiring history. Elegant and beautiful and welcoming to all. When near Wall Street, stop in a visit one of New York's prettiest churches.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Stain Glass and Wood interior is breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Go inside to feel the mysterious wonder of this structure built in the 1600's. Walking around is a great experience. We enjoy people watching as there are much tourists as well as locals. There are also activities and something very exciting to do. Check out the forum for the latest.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Church also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.