We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty interior with thought-provoking exterior..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trinity Church

Trinity Church
74 Trinity Place, Broadway at Wall Street, New York City, NY 10006 (Financial District)
(212) 602-0800
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Brewery and Beer-Tasting Tour in Brooklyn
Ranked #69 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Originally built in 1696-97, the church was the first site of King's College, now Columbia University, and is the burial place of Alexander Hamilton and Robert Fulton.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pretty interior with thought-provoking exterior..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Visiting the Trinity Church was not part of my planned itinerary but we came across it when exiting the subway and I must say it's nice to be able to visit this church on our trip.. We first came face to face with the cemetery, which is rather thought-provoking for me.. The exterior of the church was surrounded by scaffolding, its a pity we couldn't get to see its full beauty.. The interior of the church is very grand and astonishing, you must see it with your own eyes!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    146
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly People, Pretty Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you like to see what the world was like in Manhattan, many, many years ago this is a nice place. It has a beautiful garden and lovely church to contemplate in solitude. I had such a great time contemplating that I forgot my phone at the church! I was very lucky when I called they had the phone in the lost and found and did everything they could to help me retrieve it! Thanks to the friendly folks at Trinity Church, my phone is now safely with me!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Historic Site with much to offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First off...good for a bathroom stop in lower Manhattan. This church has lots of historic connections and is welcoming to all. Lunchtimes often mean free concerts or rehershal for that evenings concert. Traditional Episcopal worship done very well, indeed.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
553 reviews 553 reviews
438 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“History Amongst the Skyscrapers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This beautiful piece of history is nestled amongst all the soaring buildings of the financial district of NYC. I was a bit disappointed that the exterior was completely covered in scaffolding, but the inside more than made up for it. I felt like I had stepped into one of the many cathedrals I had visited in Europe. The stained glass and the statues were all just lovely. It was a little dark inside for pictures but it added to the atmosphere of the church. Please take the time to see this church if you are down near Wall Street.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice service, easy to find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Right on the Trinity subway stop, this beautiful church has a lovely old graveyard that you're welcome to walk through. The services are lovely and you feel right at home, even as an out-of-towner.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trinity Church also viewed

 

Been to Trinity Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trinity Church, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.