We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointed!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skyscraper Museum

Skyscraper Museum
39 Battery Place, (at Nassau St.), New York City, NY 10280 (Financial District)
212 968-1961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Educational Sites, History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wall Street was the building ground for early skyscrapers, and this museum is dedicated to studying and enjoying them.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

i learned that i can get a free pass to visit the museum so i signed up, i got the pass in email but i have no access to printer to print out the pass. i went to the museum and try to show them the digital pass in my iphone, they refused to let me in, i told them i have no access to printer and the lady said:" how would I know?" i understand her position but i do not think this is a proper way for her to respond. if this free pass is only for people live in the city who get access to printers, they should of put that notice up front so i won't waste my time signing up. also, i heard that NYC is trying to go Green, i do not see the green side of having people print out a 8.5x11 paper for a pass they can just scanned digitally on smart phones. i am very dissaponited with this museum and the whole printed free pass thing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    23
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Interesting, but not worth an extra trip.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My son and I got off the ferry from Ellis Island, and our New York Pass (highly recommended) guide book told us this was just around the corner, so we went to see. It was interesting for a 13 year old kid - some models and pictures of famous world buildings, but I thought it could have been a bit more educational in terms of the engineering of some of these incredible buildings (not too technical - but just some basics). As other reviewers say, it's small. If you're in the neighborhood, and have an extra 1/2 hour, there isn't much to lose, but it's not worth a trip just for this attraction alone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Smaller than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Visited the Skyscraper Museum on the New York Pass. I expected something much larger and pictures of the Museum (with its clever use of mirrors) also suggested that would be the case. Like other reviewers I was looking forward to visiting this - especially given the importance of skyscrapers to the city - but found 30 minutes was ample time to see the contents; I actually spent more time in the shop. Tip: establish what temporary exhibition is on, as this takes up much of the space in the Skyscraper Museum. (To give you a feel, it was Building New York's Garment District, when I was there.)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a small interesting museum, which will take 30mins of your time and costs $5. When we went, there was an exhibition about how fashion companies started in new york and helped its growth - ok - not what we expected. It has interesting articles about world wide, tall buildings, and does some comparisons. We thought that this museum would have had more information on NYC skyscrapers than it did.
Not brilliant, but its a small, cheap museum that wont take much of your time and has some interesting facts and pictures.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas Tx
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Don't Make an Extra Trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was a part of New York Pass and was on our way from one place to another. We stopped because my husband loves architecture. He was very interested in the one room that not only told the history of skyscraper in NY, but also all over the world. They do have a lot of books on the subject, so if you wanted to do research, here is your place!
Not expensive, nice neighborhood and easy walk from Statue of LIberty Ferry.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyscraper Museum also viewed

 

Been to Skyscraper Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyscraper Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.