We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel 91-Chinatown NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel 91 to your Saves list
The Hotel 91
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hotel 91-Chinatown NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The hotel was fine for a weekend... clean, quiet-except for the occasional sound of the subway going by. Convenient location and fun neighborhood. Our room was definitely very small but we were in it only to sleep and shower so who cares.Comfy,clean bed, clean bathroom. I would definitely stay there again and recommend anyone to give it a try. Stop staying around the Times Square area, venture out-try something different. You wont regret or forget Hotel 91.SIDENOTE: wifi wasn't working very well if you care.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    183
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
79
143
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

It doesn't have an impressive entrance, it's on the second floor of a building in Chinatown. Upon arrival we were quite disappointed by the smell of Chinatown( first time in New York?)
But soon after we got in it is alright, it's a clean budget hotel and as simple as you can expect it to be.
Even tho it's near to the rail but you can't hear anything thanks to the special window treatment in the hotel room.
Rooms are spacious and bright! That's what we all want in a New York hotel room! It is very near to subway no 7 that serves an direct line to SoHo and fifth avenue.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaBelle, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

When I travel the only requirements I have for the hotel are that it's clean, good location, and it doesn't drain my budget. That is exactly what Hotel 91 is. The staff was very friendly at check in and helped us navigate to the nearest subway entrance. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. It's obvious that it's an older building and the rooms are a little cramped-but that's just how it goes in NYC. Who goes to NYC to hangout in a hotel room anyway? Not me! The location was also really nice! It was awesome to visit all of the Chinese shops and restaurants and the people were friendly.

I've stayed in Midtown a few times and definitely prefer staying at Hotel 91. I highly recommend it and consider it my own NYC secret.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

By New York standards, our two-queen-bed room was palatial, particularly for the price. The hotel was very quiet, and the staff was kind and courteous. We had some great Asian meals in the neighborhood, plus there's an American-style breakfast/lunch joint called the Cup and Saucer a couple blocks away. The subway stop is a few blocks away but not too far. We also easily hailed cabs just out front. Honestly, I can't say enough about how clean, comfortable and affordable Hotel 91 was.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Location in Chinatown, markets on the street smelled bad, parking a block and a half away, about $35.00. Ordered dinner and breakfast delivered because I was afraid to walk outside. Not at all what I expected for location after seeing the website. The pictures were beautiful, and I felt completely safe once inside. Nice granite and tile bathroom, comfortable beds. I ordered dinner and breakfast in since I didn't want to venture outside again. Call me coward, but coming from a small town...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned from a weekend trip to NYC. Family and I stayed at Hotel 91 in Chinatown. I found the hotel a great place to use as a base to explore Chinatown. The hotel is loacted next to the Manhattan Bridge and it's elevated train tracks so train noise might be an issue to some. The front staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was okay. Clean and cool. Had a couple of problems. 1. The bathtub drain would not close. 2. The bedside lamp would not stay on,either, a problem with switch or socket. Other than those minor issues, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros

- A great hotel considering the price and location.
- There are a few guys that operate the vintage elevator, they were all nice, cheerful and friendly
- 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station. F line
- Nice diners nearby. Try Cup and Saucer diner!
- Large rooms for Manhattan standard.
- Good sleep quality (say whatt?). Well, I live in the middle of the city in Kuala Lumpur. I am very used to the traffic noise. The noise made by the rempits (google rempits, you learn something new everyday) in front of my apartment in Malaysia is waaaaayyy noisier than what you get at Hotel 91.
- Clean rooms
- You are in China Town, enjoy the sights and the sound.
- They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Awesome!


Cons
- The reception staff wasn't so friendly.

Room Tip: They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Try not to get 2nd floor rooms as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel 91, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.