We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel 91 to your Saves list
The Hotel 91
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #351 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned from a weekend trip to NYC. Family and I stayed at Hotel 91 in Chinatown. I found the hotel a great place to use as a base to explore Chinatown. The hotel is loacted next to the Manhattan Bridge and it's elevated train tracks so train noise might be an issue to some. The front staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was okay. Clean and cool. Had a couple of problems. 1. The bathtub drain would not close. 2. The bedside lamp would not stay on,either, a problem with switch or socket. Other than those minor issues, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    213
    131
    46
    26
See reviews for
93
162
41
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros

- A great hotel considering the price and location.
- There are a few guys that operate the vintage elevator, they were all nice, cheerful and friendly
- 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station. F line
- Nice diners nearby. Try Cup and Saucer diner!
- Large rooms for Manhattan standard.
- Good sleep quality (say whatt?). Well, I live in the middle of the city in Kuala Lumpur. I am very used to the traffic noise. The noise made by the rempits (google rempits, you learn something new everyday) in front of my apartment in Malaysia is waaaaayyy noisier than what you get at Hotel 91.
- Clean rooms
- You are in China Town, enjoy the sights and the sound.
- They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Awesome!


Cons
- The reception staff wasn't so friendly.

Room Tip: They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Try not to get 2nd floor rooms as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but clean. This was perhaps the first time I'd stayed in a perfectly triangular room but it was functional. The lifts were being renovated when we stayed so some poor young lad was sleeping in the service lift and collecting us every time we wanted to go to our 7th floor room. The bed was comfy and clean and the room was basic but functional. The noise from the train really is a problem if you want a decent nights sleep. The whole room vibrates from the noise. The location of the hotel is dirty and smelly but walking distance to the 911 memorial and battery park for trips to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island which was quite handy. Finding breakfast nearby in the early morning is a hassle. You need to walk to Broadway about a mile away to have any choice. The staff were friendly enough even turning down tips which has to be a first.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect (as we were on a budget) but upon arrival we loved the clean and bright entrance lobby and were greeted by friendly staff. We were taken to our room and were immediately thrilled with how spotlessly clean it was. The bathroom was super hygienically clean and the shower was powerful and again, super clean. Beds comfy with fresh linen. Having read other reviews I guess we were lucky to have had a room on the 7th floor and we could see the new World Trade Centre and the Woolworth Building from our window. Gorgeous at night! Yes the trains were loud but hey, so what! Those who have moaned about it I would say "what do you expect from a train"!! ONLY one negative and that's that there are no provisions for making a tea/coffee in the room so we were glad we took a small travel kettle! Others reviews complain of China Town being dirty - I would say again, so what. Its a thriving busy community where you can buy fresh fruit and a good stroll around will expose you to a world far removed from your own, we loved it. 2 min walk to the nearest subway. TIPS - you must try Dim Sum Go Go restaurant at No. 5, bet dim sum ever. When we paid our bill we were shocked at the value for 5 nights amazing value. I would recommend this hotel to families, solo our couples who want all of the above on a budget but who expect cleanliness and friendliness. I cannot fault this hotel!

Room Tip: Recommend 7th floor (above railway line) and views better. Recommend room 704!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean, service was great and it was good value for money. Location was a bit out of the city, and china town isn't the cleanest but the hotel was nice enough. Trains are close by so easy to get around. China town is closed by 12am so if your wanting to be surrounded by night life of new york, location may not be suited to you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Excellent cheap choise. It is in Chinatown so the Neighborhood is quite dirty. But our room was spacious and very clean. We stayed for four days and everyday they change towels and clean the room. Although our room was next to Manhattan bridge , we were so tired at night that we had not any problema to sleep. It is the best option if you want something cheap!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was wondering how I could afford a trip to New York City. My granddaughter had her heart set on the Statue of Liberty. Fortunately, I found this hotel. We stayed 3 nights here the first week of April. It was very affordable, clean and children could stay quite nicely here. Also its location makes it walking distance to all the major attractions such as the 911 Memorial. Trains did not bother me, after all what do you expect in the middle of a metropolis? They also arranged a taxi the last day back to the airport. I am looking for cleanliness and affordability in a hotel. This had both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#284 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#300 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#373 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#263 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,201 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#379 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 401 reviews
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
Marrakech Hotel on Broadway
#357 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire and Otel so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel 91, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.