We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice affordable hotel in Manhattan.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hotel 91

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Hotel 91 to your Saves list
The Hotel 91
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002 (Chinatown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #350 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A nice affordable hotel in Manhattan.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Pros

- A great hotel considering the price and location.
- There are a few guys that operate the vintage elevator, they were all nice, cheerful and friendly
- 10 minutes walk to the nearest subway station. F line
- Nice diners nearby. Try Cup and Saucer diner!
- Large rooms for Manhattan standard.
- Good sleep quality (say whatt?). Well, I live in the middle of the city in Kuala Lumpur. I am very used to the traffic noise. The noise made by the rempits (google rempits, you learn something new everyday) in front of my apartment in Malaysia is waaaaayyy noisier than what you get at Hotel 91.
- Clean rooms
- You are in China Town, enjoy the sights and the sound.
- They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Awesome!


Cons
- The reception staff wasn't so friendly.

Room Tip: They have a coin operated laundry and dryer on the 7th floor. Try not to get 2nd floor rooms as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    183
    120
    44
    23
See reviews for
79
143
39
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small but clean. This was perhaps the first time I'd stayed in a perfectly triangular room but it was functional. The lifts were being renovated when we stayed so some poor young lad was sleeping in the service lift and collecting us every time we wanted to go to our 7th floor room. The bed was comfy and clean and the room was basic but functional. The noise from the train really is a problem if you want a decent nights sleep. The whole room vibrates from the noise. The location of the hotel is dirty and smelly but walking distance to the 911 memorial and battery park for trips to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis island which was quite handy. Finding breakfast nearby in the early morning is a hassle. You need to walk to Broadway about a mile away to have any choice. The staff were friendly enough even turning down tips which has to be a first.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Wasn't sure what to expect (as we were on a budget) but upon arrival we loved the clean and bright entrance lobby and were greeted by friendly staff. We were taken to our room and were immediately thrilled with how spotlessly clean it was. The bathroom was super hygienically clean and the shower was powerful and again, super clean. Beds comfy with fresh linen. Having read other reviews I guess we were lucky to have had a room on the 7th floor and we could see the new World Trade Centre and the Woolworth Building from our window. Gorgeous at night! Yes the trains were loud but hey, so what! Those who have moaned about it I would say "what do you expect from a train"!! ONLY one negative and that's that there are no provisions for making a tea/coffee in the room so we were glad we took a small travel kettle! Others reviews complain of China Town being dirty - I would say again, so what. Its a thriving busy community where you can buy fresh fruit and a good stroll around will expose you to a world far removed from your own, we loved it. 2 min walk to the nearest subway. TIPS - you must try Dim Sum Go Go restaurant at No. 5, bet dim sum ever. When we paid our bill we were shocked at the value for 5 nights amazing value. I would recommend this hotel to families, solo our couples who want all of the above on a budget but who expect cleanliness and friendliness. I cannot fault this hotel!

Room Tip: Recommend 7th floor (above railway line) and views better. Recommend room 704!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Rooms were clean, service was great and it was good value for money. Location was a bit out of the city, and china town isn't the cleanest but the hotel was nice enough. Trains are close by so easy to get around. China town is closed by 12am so if your wanting to be surrounded by night life of new york, location may not be suited to you!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Distrito Federal, Argentina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Excellent cheap choise. It is in Chinatown so the Neighborhood is quite dirty. But our room was spacious and very clean. We stayed for four days and everyday they change towels and clean the room. Although our room was next to Manhattan bridge , we were so tired at night that we had not any problema to sleep. It is the best option if you want something cheap!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I was wondering how I could afford a trip to New York City. My granddaughter had her heart set on the Statue of Liberty. Fortunately, I found this hotel. We stayed 3 nights here the first week of April. It was very affordable, clean and children could stay quite nicely here. Also its location makes it walking distance to all the major attractions such as the 911 Memorial. Trains did not bother me, after all what do you expect in the middle of a metropolis? They also arranged a taxi the last day back to the airport. I am looking for cleanliness and affordability in a hotel. This had both.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Affordable price, clean room, but the receptionist is not really nice though. There's also vending machines in the lobby. What could be a major problem is: it's really close to train station which bothers you when it gets to sleeping time. How to tackle this? Don't forget to bring your earplugs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hotel 91? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel 91

Address: 91 E Broadway, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hotel 91 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 70 room smoke free hotel in Manhattan’s vibrant Lower East Side. Chinatown, Little Italy, SoHo, Wall Street, and other major NYC attractions are only steps away. The Hotel is easily accessible by car, taxi, and public transportation. Hotel 91 is the perfect synergy between luxurious downtown boutique and outstanding value; offering reasonably sized guest rooms and room accommodations in a bargain for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Hotel 91 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
91 Hotel New York City
Hotel 91

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hotel 91, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.