We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
103 Orchard Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)
+1 877-975-3786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,635 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Don't miss it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The NY immigrant experience brought to life. Fascinating exhibits, including two identical apartment layouts, one depicting life in the 1880s and one from the 20s...

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,944 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,109
    591
    155
    62
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fascinating for history buffs like me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The museum is housed in a genuine tenement building that was inhabited until the 1930's or so. It was purchased in the 80's by a woman who wanted to restore it and open it to the public so people could see how immigrants actually lived back in the day. I've been to two of the talks, one about an Irish family and the other about an Italian family. They actually tracked down people who lived in the building as children so they could recount their memories of growing up there. It's really fascinating stuff. My only complaint is that they were not at all accomodating when I went there with about 25 students and we were unavoidably detained by problems with the railroad and subways that were being renovated at the time. We went all the way from Long Island on a miserably rainy day, only to be told that we could only have a 15 minute tour, take it or leave it. I had called from the subway station to tell them we were trying our best to get there as fast as we could. We were not offered any discount for another visit or any other accomodation. Other than that, the museum is a wonderful place to learn about how our ancestors lived when they first came here.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“If you are interested, you will love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a fantastic experience- if you find the idea interesting to start with. It is basically an hour with a storyteller, who is painting a picture based in fact, with some great props (on our tour, including pictures, artifacts, and period music) on a great stage (ie, the tenement itself). I didn't know what it would be like, or how much stamina we would have, so I booked us in for just one of the tours- and now I want to go back and do all of them! btw, their Gift Shop is streets ahead of most shops of its type- and worth making time for. It's a bit of hike to get to, but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we took the garment center tour. Now we work or have worked in that industry so it was fascinating for us but I think everyone would love it.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Sweatshop workers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a look at this museum which you can not just wander around, you must do the guided tour. But it was a facinating insight into the migrant workers of New York and how they lived and worked.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenement Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.