We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk through history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenement Museum

Tenement Museum
103 Orchard Street, Lower East Side, New York City, NY 10002 (Lower East Side)
+1 877-975-3786
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Tenement Museum preserves the history of immigration through the personal accounts of those who built lives in the Lower East Side. Visitors can view restored apartments from the 19th and 20th centuries, walk the historic neighborhood, and interact with residents to learn the stories of generations of immigrants who helped shape the American experience. The museum is available by guided tour only. Each tour focuses on a specific theme and takes visitors to a different area of the building or neighborhood.
Cortland, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“walk through history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Tours are small, intimate and rather informal. The guides are personable and knowledgeable. You get a glimpse of NYC in the 1800's.

We have taken two tours so far and not been disappointed either time. As an added benefit Katz's Deli is within walking distance

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,938 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,106
    589
    154
    62
    27
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We had a very good guide who spent more time than she should telling us stories of the families that used to live in very squalid conditions .

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“America's Melting Pot in one Tenement experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

An excellent example of how America became a nation of immigrants-the melting pot of the world. The tours are detailed and interesting. I loved the small group size-would recommend to everyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Tenement Museum - not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were told not to miss the Tenement Museum while in New York recently. We booked two tours - Sweatshop Workers and Irish Outsiders. The physical living space might have been the same, but the living conditions and the history behind the two groups could not have been more different. The guides were wonderful, very knowledgeable and able to answer all questions, regardless of how obscure. We had four children on our tour and the guide handled their questions and comments with ease and encouragement. One in our group had walking issues and arrangements were made to accommodate going up and down the stairs between tours. The history of life in the lower east side came to life when hearing about and seeing pictures of past residents of 108 Orchard Street.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A piece of mind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were not able to go on a tour. They were sold out. We stayed and watched the movie (very informative) and looked at all of the tour options. I would bring my little one back for the interactive tour as they have someone dressed as a teenager from the era who talks about their experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenement Museum also viewed

 

Been to Tenement Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenement Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.