We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Woolworth Building” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woolworth Building

Woolworth Building
233 Broadway, New York City, NY 10007 (Financial District)
415-710-6860
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #178 of 1,635 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: F. W. Woolworth funded this elaborate design on his own dime - and nickel.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Woolworth Building”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

First of all, I want to give this five stars; I really do. It's a beautiful building all-around, with mosaics, neo-gothic architecture and a retro feel, but you can't go inside. You can, but you have to pay $15 for half an hour to see the lobby, and $45 for a longer tour. I had some time during my last trip from NYC to check out this part of Manhattan, so I used my park whiz app on my smartphone to find a nearby parking spot, saving me time and some money. When I arrived at the building, an unhappy sign stating "Tourists are not permitted beyond this point." The only way in to look at the beautiful lobby was to shell out an unreasonable amount of money. The building was apparently closed to the public after 9/11, but the company that owns it now is just trolling for money. This isn't going to a charity or anything - just the building owner. History should not be for sale.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    27
    12
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tours available”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

30 and 60 minute lobby tours are available for a very nominal fee. I booked online and remarkably on the day I was the only person on the tour. It was conducted by an impressive young man (architecture student I think)who was a wealth of information about the history and construction and later upgrades. It is a magnificent site of a time passed and should be visited by anyone interested in architecture and the nostalgia of the early skyscrapers. Truly a cathedral of commerce.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
557 helpful votes 557 helpful votes
“Amazing but not readily able to view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Walked a few miles to see the Woolworth building. When we arrived, were greeted by a no-entry permitted sign. Was able to get a brief look at the ceiling, which was truly amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, lsrael
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
105 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
“A Forbidden Landmark”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Built in 1913, the Woolworth Building was the world's tallest building until surpassed by the Chrysler Building in 1930, then Empire State Building in 1931, then the original World Trade Center twin towers in 1972-73. It is a testament to New York's leadership in the world, that these buildings were, when constructed, the tallest in the world, not "just" the tallest in New York! The building supposedly is 60 storeys high, but in fact has "only" 56. At the Broadway-side entrance is an utterly obnoxious sign saying "no tourists beyond this point"; this reviewer entered through a side entrance on Barclay Street, just to see the impressive lobby, without hassle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Take the Lobby Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The building is very impressive and beautiful but until recently there was no easy way to visit the interior or admire it in much detail. You can now take a tour of the lobby by pre-booking, which should be part of any wander/tour of downtown/financial district. I could only find space in the 15 min slot, but the tour lasted approx 30 mins. You get the chance to see the lobby and the first basement while the tour guide gives you some interesting facts and general information. Highly recommended - a great way to experience more of this wonderful building!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woolworth Building also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Woolworth Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woolworth Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.