We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do for NY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Empire State Building

Empire State Building
350 Fifth Avenue, Between 33rd and 34th Streets, New York City, NY 10118 (Midtown)
+1 212-736-3100
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Empire State Building like an insider
Buy Tickets Online
$32*
and up
Ranked #29 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The world-famous Empire State Building offers unobstructed panoramic views of New York City and beyond from 8 a.M. Until 2 a.M. Daily. Our 86th and 102nd floor Observation Decks offer the two highest vantage points in New York City. Soaring 1,454 feet above Midtown Manhattan from base to antenna, the Empire State Building is the World's Most Famous Office Building. Named America's favorite building in a poll conducted by the American Institute of Architects, the Empire State Building is one of New York City's top tourist destinations. On a clear day, you can see up to five states from our Observation Decks - New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Connecticut and Massachusetts. Guests can enjoy our outdoor viewing area on our open-air 86th floor Observatory, or our indoor climate-controlled viewing areas on the 86th and 102nd floors. We recently launched our new Multimedia Experience as well, which guides visitors through the extraordinary exhibits and breathtaking views with additional depth on the building's history in eight languages - including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Mandarin, Portuguese, Japanese and Korean. The Empire State Building aims to provide entertainment for guests of all ages. Bringing children? Have their picture taken with King Kong himself on our 80th floor from Thursdays through Mondays (12 p.M. Until 9 p.M.). Celebrating a first date or an anniversary? Enjoy romantic tunes from our saxophone player from 9 p.M. Until midnight every Thursday through Saturday night. Tickets can be purchased through our website. Our celebrated tower lights are often illuminated to commemorate holidays, events and special causes. In the Fall of 2012, we upgraded our tower lighting system from floodlights to one-of-a-kind LED tower lights. The state-of-the-art system allows customized lighting capabilities from a palette of over 16 million colors! To watch some of our recent light shows, visit our YouTube page. Reigning as the world's tallest building from 1931 to 1970, the Empire State Building is known for its distinct Art Deco style. Construction of the renowned icon only took one year and 45 days, and logged more than 7 million man hours. This is the fastest construction to date for a project of its scale. Additionally, from classics like An Affair to Remember and Sleepless in Seattle to recent hits such as Oblivion and Elf, our place in pop culture has been solidified since our early days. In fact, over 200 movies and TV shows have featured the Empire State Building in them!
Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must do for NY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is of course the must to part of NY! With breathtaking scenery and an amazingly fast lift ride to the top it is great. For those scared of heights, have no fear its safe, you can't fall over the edge! Take a good camera and get some amazing shots! It is even better going up a night and getting the night view of the city.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Frazer27- We're delighted that you found the views to be breathtaking and that you consider this to be a must-do in NYC! Thank you for your visit and for this review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16,552 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,439
    4,550
    1,600
    567
    396
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Memories which you will remember for a life time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

There are lots of heights to scale in NYC but this has to be the best. We did it at night and the lightshow on all four sides was magical...the state is lit-up for as far as the eye can see. The building itself is an art deco master piece. Buy an express pass and skip the queues..well worth the premium.

You see this icon from every part of NYC and it acts as a reassuring beacon if you get lost. My visit left me with memories l’ll never forget.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi machinmad- We're happy to hear your visit provided you with life-long memories of both the building and the evening views. Thank you for coming and for writing this review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Night time views over New York City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We decided to go to the top of The Empire State Building in the evening as we'd gone up The Rockefeller in the day so wanted to get two different types of views, and I'm glad we did as all the lights on at night was incredible to see, and shows just how big and busy the city is. We paid extra for the Simulator which I wouldn't recommend, it's not great and a bit too much expense for something not so great, but as we were there we just paid for it!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi goatinaboat44- We're glad you found the nighttime views of the lights to be incredible. The simulator you mention is the New York Skyride and it's important to note that the Empire State Building and its Observatories are not affiliated with the New York Skyride or its agents who approach visitors outside the building. New York Skyride is an independently owned and operated business. We recommend you leave them a review on their TripAdvisor review page. We also strongly urge all guests to purchase their tickets either online ahead of time or inside the building. Thank you for your visit. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

The empire state building in NYC had amazing views all-around. Many New York landmarks were also visible, such as the statue of liberty, or yankee stadium. Maybe the best part was the audio tour, with a genuine New Yorker guiding you through all the sights and describing them as you go.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Mark- We're thrilled you found the 360-degree views to be so amazing and that you enjoyed the contest that the our audio-visual guide, the iView, provided. Thank you for coming - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“The Empire State Building - It's Iconic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This place must have a memory of a film or event for everyone. As a soppy romantic, It was Cary Grant & Deborah Kerr in An Affair to Remember (not even my era !).
The reality in visiting this iconic building was everything I wanted, excellent, we went at dusk, surprisingly no lines, we bought tickets (not vouchers) before we left UK just incase !
I Highly recommended the audio tour, available from staff en route to the top !.
Staff are all experienced at helping and ushering people along & upwards.
Wear something warm (it's breezy up there).
Take your time and enjoy the view and ambiance in daylight, dusk and the dark. You're only gonna do this once.
I enjoyed the shop too although souvenirs are expensive, you did buy them actually from the top of the Empire State Building.
LOVED IT.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empire_State_Bldg, Empire State Building at Empire State Building, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi Bev- We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your overall experience and that it was everything you were looking for; we always enjoy hearing from guests who appreciate both the building and the incredible views. We also appreciate your compliments about our staff and will be sure to pass them along. Thank you for your visit and for writing this review. - Empire State Building
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire State Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.