We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Building

Flatiron Building
175 Fifth Ave., At 23rd St., New York City, NY 10010 (Flatiron District)
212 477 0947
Improve this listing
Visit Flatiron Building like an insider
Top Rated
$59*
and up
New York City Hop-on Hop-off Tour and Harbor...
Ranked #74 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Daniel Burnham design got its moniker because, as you might guess, it resembles an iron.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Am architecturally interesting building, worth a visit if you're in the area. Not particularly overwhelming

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    279
    66
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Recall interesting building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to check out this iconic building. Managed to find it in he first try and wasn't disappointed. It is a really interesting building and it makes me wonder what the apartments look like inside! There is a small park nearby that you can sit and watch the people go by. Grab a cup of coffee and check it out!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

I missed it the first time I went to NYC, but I had to see it the second time. And it's really interesting. I still wonder how those appartments look like from inside. You shouldn't miss it on your way to Greenwich Village.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“One of the more interesting buildings in NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is one of the more unusual buildings that I have been to. I'm somewhat of a science fiction buff, so it was great to see where Tor/Forge books was actually headquartered. I had heard that the curvature of the building results in peculiar wind conditions, and even in the heat of the summer I found that it was true; the wind whipped around the corner at a fast clip. This is apparently is where the phrase "twenty-three skidoo" comes from, which I guess is a fun fact. Before I got to the Flatiron, I used my phone's park whiz app to find an inexpensive place to park, as I didn't plan on hanging around that long in the neighborhood.

I had speculated that the unusual shape of the building would have some effect on the offices inside, and it turned out to be quite true. The "point" offices apparently offer very nice views of the skyline, but the other offices are somewhat off center. The windows were a bit screwy too, but as I wasn't staying long I didn't have a chance to take a longer look. There are some shops at the bottom, but I didn't take a good look at those.

It's an iconic landmark - visit it at least once. : )

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to sit and feel it all in !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a great idea to block space for sitting ! Have a coffee and enjoy the view !Just feel the energy !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatiron Building also viewed

 

Been to Flatiron Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.