We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soon to be a Hotel??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flatiron Building

Flatiron Building
175 Fifth Ave., At 23rd St., New York City, NY 10010 (Flatiron District)
212 477 0947
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$29*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
Ranked #61 of 633 Attractions in New York City
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Daniel Burnham design got its moniker because, as you might guess, it resembles an iron.
Dundee
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Soon to be a Hotel??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

It's always a pleasure to look at difference, individual building and this one is up there with the best. Never fails to excite and amaze and if the bus tour guide is to be believed, it is to be converted into a hotel. Sounds like a great use for a building of this stature.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    227
    53
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Drove by on Tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We drove by the Flatiron Building on a Grayline Tour bus and were able to hear from our tour guide the cool history behind it and also some other buildings that the designer had created around the city. I am a history nerd so that appealed to me which I understand doesn't appeal to everyone.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Iconic and historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Flatiron is an interesting stop for anyone with an interest in architecture, history or photography. You won't need to spend a lot of time so it is a good stop on your way to another attraction like Union Square

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We visited this building and admired it during a walk from Union Square park, up Broadway and in to Central Park. It's an iconic building and looks as good in in person as it does on a canvas picture which sits on our bedroom wall. There's loads of shops, a park, seating and even free WiFi in the area surrounding this landmark.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful to look at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Walk by, admire, enjoy. This is one of New York City's iconic buildings. Every tourist should see it. And be sure and enjoy Madison Park which is right near by.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flatiron Building also viewed

 

Been to Flatiron Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flatiron Building, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.