We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greenwich Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 452 hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Not what you would expect in trendy Tribeca. Old world feel. Charming. Rooms feel centuries old but modern and clean. The brickwork is new but you would swear the building was erected at the turn of the last century. Locande Verde is an excellent restaurant. The pool and spa in the basement is an oasis. The courtyard is a lively spot to grab a drink. You will feel transported. Service is excellent. Few blocks from all major subway lines. But quiet neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    32
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
32
182
32
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed at the Greenwich for 2 nights in May and loved it! After a week staying around Times Square, this was the perfect way to end our holiday. Bar snacks are complimentary as well as non-alcoholic drinks. The welcome cookies on arrival in the room are delicious! We had dinner in the lounge area downstairs one night by the fire with food from the adjoining restaurant (Locanda Verde). The doormen were always welcoming when we returned from being out, and offered to hail taxis or point us in the right direction when heading out. We loved the area also, with lots of great restaurants to explore. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I spent our 23 anniversary at this wonderful hotel. The day was spent in the spa and it was one of the best I have ever been to. The hotel couldn't have been better and we had a wonderful time. My only regret was that we left the building to shop. The next time I stay put and bring my poodle.

Room Tip: I do not want to say as I want my room when I go. If I tell others may take it. The beauty of this h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Checked in for a 2 day stay over Memorial Day weekend yesterday with my wife and our son. Can't understand the hype. Yes, service is ok-ish, but nothing more. No one got us a taxi yesterday when we were standing outside. Bar service in the evening slow. No proactive approach to show us different rooms the next day as requested. Would say it is the min. I expect from a hotel at the upper NYC price range. The room itself (Superior Greenwich room) I would describe as little tasteful and outdated. There is no consistent design and low quality furniture and appliances. Walls dirty and damaged. Room not fully clean when arrived. Hardly any view. Bed mattress very weak. Massage in the spa was good though my wife said. However, overall first and last time. The good news is though that there seems to be a lot of business opportunity for true excellence in service and design in the NYC hotel business. So far, I have not found any.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We very much appreciate every repsonse and are certainly sad that this is not a positive one but we do understand that, as we are all individual in our taste, not every establishment is going to suite every person. The design is intentionally diverse in nature and each piece of furniture was chosen with consideration and care. The beds are by Duxiana, a very highly respected Swdish company. Views in a city such as New York are a challenge but we do not have any narrow roads or upleasant outlooks around us.
We have been in touch and the hotel has offered a gesture of goodwill to the guests and an invitation to retrun and hopefully we will be able to offer a more acceptable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We have enjoyed THe Greenwich so much and we can complain just slow service at breakfast time.
complimentary wifi is already must have in five star hotels, but complimentary minibar full of great non alcohol drinks like ginger limonade, green tea sencha limonade etc. is absolutely classy.
The hotel offers also complimentary sweets and chips in the room ***** ;)
Our room window was oriented to courtyard which was very quit in the night.
The Spa has wide offer of treatments. The pool area was always empty, who would like to be at the pool without any window ...

Room Tip: only courtyard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

i stayed here 4 months ago and ia m glad i did as this hotel provided excellent serivce the staff where friednly the rooms are really clean and spacious the location is right in the centre of new york so easy to get around
would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Bar snacks are complimentary, the rooms are a good size for New York and ours faced so the courtyard so was lovely and quiet. The swimming pool is a little haven in which to relax and I was even offered the use of an IPad whilst relaxing after my swim. Excellent customer service and extra touches made this an excellent choice which I shall return to.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in New York City
#18 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#21 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#114 Family Hotel in New York City
#151 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith and Priceline so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.