We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greenwich Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 451 hotels in New York City
Basel
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“My favorite boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I finally got a chance to stay at the Greenwich hotel. I used to live in NYC and whenever I visited the city I used it as an opportunity to check out different hotels. My experience at the Greenwich was nearly perfect. I liked its design, the courtyard, the homey and thoughtful designed room, the complementary snack basket, the freshly baked gourmet crispy oatmeal cookies, the selection of books in the room, the spacious and beautifully tiled bathroom, the lounge areas and the spa.

I also loved the location because it's not as touristy and walking distance to SoHo. I was able to run along the river every day during my stay. It's also walking distance to great restaurants in the neighborhood.

This is what other boutique hotels should benchmark after.

Room Tip: Amazing decor and attention to details there is no bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    273
    32
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
32
177
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed for only one night (unfortunately) with my husband and it was pretty much perfect. We booked with an Am Ex Platinum card and were upgraded to a lovely room (#416). It had the most amazing bathroom with a gorgeous free-standing tub, plus awesome shower and a dry sauna... The room itself overlooked the inner courtyard and was super quiet. The manager left us a bottle of wine in the room with a note ("thanks for returning, enjoy your stay") which, considering we have only been there one other night about 2 years ago was quite nice.

We both enjoyed spa treatments and I love the indoor pool area. It is beyond relaxing - so peaceful and tranquil it really is hard to believe it's in NYC. Dinner at the restaurant was delicious as was breakfast in the lounge area the next morning. That was one of my favorite parts of the stay actually... getting up in the morning and having delicious coffee while chatting with the staff. Everyone who works at the hotel is super nice and helpful. It truly feels like staying in someone's really cool, awesome house. I think it's easily one of the best hotels in the city.

Room Tip: inner courtyard room was super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Big room, perfect sheets, rainwater shower and a free mini bar refilled daily! These things alone would normally make a hotel stay for me but the Greenwich has so many extra touches of New York style including excellent staff and fabulous lounge areas around the hotel. If you want something understated and quite unique then this is the hotel for you.
Excellent location in TriBeCa, the cafe around the corner does a good matzo ball soup but the food in the hotel also looks delicious. It's worth getting one of the bigger rooms on a higher floor. Can't wait to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have wanted to stay at The Greenwich for some time now. I travel to NYC about once every year, and always like to try somewhere new (on the more upscale side). While I would not give this a five-star review if it were based purely on the grandeur of the property; but, that is exactly why I give TGH my five star rating. I stayed here in October 2013, and thoroughly enjoyed my one-night stay. I took full advantage of feeling as though TGH was my home away from home. It was an experience that, after only 24 hours, I felt completely rejuvenated. I arrived early and checked out late. The restaurant, Locanda Verde, is buzzing at night with a great bar area and amazing food/wine list. The gym and spa/pool area were absolute gems. My only complaint is that the TV in my room did not have good reception, but the amazing bed more than made up for it. My most recent hotel stay was at the Mandarin, Las Vegas - and the two hotels do not compare (so, if you are looking for a chi-chi spa type hotel, I would say, this is not the place for you). If you want an exclusive hideaway hotel with pampering and a cool ambience, then you should consider staying at TGH.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just spent a week in NY in TriBeCa - and lived the high life!
Staff made this stay so very pleasant - always friendly but unobtrusive
Perfectly sited close to Metro which opens the whole of Manhattan - try the freshly steamed lobster at Chelsea Market - best in town!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed at the Greenwich hotel a few times and each time I check in, i am reminded of what a wonderful place it is. The staff is extremely accommodating without being insincere and chatty. The decor is beautiful - extremely well done for NY. It doesn't seem corporate or over styled but rather sophisticated and comfortable. There are many nice touches to note but array of art books, the creaking wooden floors in the room and Moroccan inspired tiled bathrooms are especially attractive to me.
I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Request inside room if you don't want any street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Very classy and charming, great hotel! Staff is very accommodating and nice! I don't say that often but staff was always (and I mean always) available to help and make sure our stay was wonderful. Great location for a quiet neighbourhood with wonderful restaurant near by. Spa services were excellent and very relaxing… Complementary snacks & minibar: wow! My husband loved the pretzels so much that we had to order them for home. Thank you for making our stay so lovely!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in New York City
#19 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#126 Family Hotel in New York City
#143 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.