We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greenwich Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Greenwich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I can't recommend the Greenwich Hotel enough as it is an oasis of understated luxury in the most bustling city in the world. Service has always been impeccable; the receptionists remember my name many months after visits and see to every request being fulfilled in the most gracious manner. I especially recommend this hotel for the most discerning of travelers who are tired of the commodification of luxury large scale hotels - which, in my opinion, often feel like the "high-end" section of shopping malls. The Greenwich Hotel, on the other hand, is the urban retreat that you retire to after braving those outside elements.

Guest rooms are well appointed and feature fantastic amenities. Complimentary mini bar (not including alcoholic beverages) and snacks.

Bathrooms are luxurious, beautifully designed and are stocked with amazing emollients and soaps.

The private Drawing Room is a fantastic place to relax and have a few drinks by the fireplace. Adjacent to the Drawing Room is the terrace, which further heightens the ambiance of the hotel.

Delicious food prepared by the kitchen at Locanda Verde is served throughout the day.

The Spa is restorative and beautifully designed.

I've stayed in many of the finest hotels in NYC, the Greenwich, in my opinion, is by far the best.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    32
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
33
186
32
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Greenwich is an expensive, lovely hotel, and many of the staff are cool.

But a fish rots from the head, and today, covering a mistake, the manager of the hotel decided to charge me an extra $700 for a 24 hour stay. Having just come off a redeye and hoped for a little rest, and spent the morning being continually awakened by fire alarm tests and then been aggressively and impolitely treated by the manager Ky, I am simply paying and walking away from this dark place.. I spent 100 nights a year in hotels and have never been been so treated. I strongly suggest you skip the Greenwich. The Crosby is run in a far more gracious way

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheGreenwich, General Manager at Greenwich Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We welcome free speech but your accusations are completely untrue and aboslutely unacceptable.

I will say that Kai is an extremely polite and considerate person, both gentle in his dealings with our guests and fair in his handling of difficult situations.

Two reservations were made on your behalf on the 18th Nov - one for yourself, for arrival on the 19 Nov , and one for your daughter to arrive on the 20 Nov, both to depart on the 21 Nov. These reservations were confirmed by email to the adress given. Detailed notes were made in both reservations requesting the rooms to be allocated near to each other, the name of your daughter and her age were noted in the comment field of her reservation, and your arrival time of 7am on the 20 Nov was recorded as well.

At noon on the 20 Nov. you requested an extra bed be put in your room for your daughter's arrival that day and you were informed that a second room had been reserved and was being held for your daughter. You said that a mistake had been made and that you wanted to cancel the room and have an upgrade to a larger room to accommodate the two of you.

It was explained that at this late stage we were unable to amend the reservations as the hotel,was competely fully booked. It was suggested that you release the room and we would do our best to resell it and thus avoid having to charge you. You chose not to take this option and hung up the phone saying how appalled you were at the way you were treated.

It is correct the alarms were being tested that morning - a mandatory test beyond our control. No other guest voiced a problem and it was by no means evident to us that you had a problem at the time.

Your only problem was being charged for the room which was correctly reserved for you, confirmed, and occupied by your daughter that night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My wife, young daughter and I just returned from a four day visit to NY where we had the privilege of staying in this amazing hotel.

We have had the good fortune of staying at some outstanding hotels around the world and this one stands out for its understated elegance.

The things we really liked:
- The lighting and decor: The dim lighting is calming and complements the old-style, club feel to the hotel
- The attention to detail in the room: an iPad for checking what's on in the city, a Jambox to connect your music collection to, a proper charging station (!), a nice variety of high quality drinks in the mini bar, oragami book and paper for the kids
- A sauna in the bathroom! Nice to bask in the heat after a chilly fall day of walking on the High Line
- The adjacent restaurant (Locanda Verde) is amazing. Try their take on Eggs Benedict (Uova Modenese) for breakfast
- Their staff: sincerely pleasant and helpful
- Sitting with a drink, playing cards by the fireplace in the Drawing Room

The room (we stayed in 515) was also extremely quiet for sleeping. No street noise. No loud HVAC system. Just the sound of my wife's gentle snoring to keep me awake.

I highly recommend this hotel.

A very minor quibble was the lack of an espresso machine in the room. Not really a hardship though to head down to the Drawing Room or the espresso bar at the Locanda Verde.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 515 which was a courtyard-facing room. Very, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The best comparison for me is with the Milestone Hotel in London. The rooms are enormous for NYC, the shower spectacular, the spa is deeply relaxing, the hotel restaurant is currently the number one restaurant on Eater.com, the amenities are amazing. I suspect it is the finest hotel experience in NYC currently, but don't have enough comparisons---just can't imagine the larger hotels can compete with the service for an "ordinary" room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Visiting the Greenwich is like staying with your well heeled and somewhat eccentric uncle. The decor is understated, elegant and supremely comfortable. The rooms are done up in such a way that they feel timeless and modern at the same time. Showers have the best water pressure in the free world. That along with the beautiful moroccan tiles and the ample Red Flower products make these the best bathrooms in the city. The Duxiana bed is a like a slice of heaven. Soft and supportive at the same time. Ask for a room facing the courtyard if you crave womb like quiet. The complimentary mini bars with their boutique brands of pretzels, chocolates and Mexican sodas is a very nice touch. Take advantage of the sitting room for breakfast. In the fall and winter you can sit by the wood fireplace in a comfy chair and contemplate life in the city while dining on specialities like lemon ricotta pancakes or zucchini frittata.

The neighborhood is quiet and cosmopolitan with loads of restaurants nearby. A few blocks north is the wonderful shopping in Soho and one block west lands you on the Hudson River park which is great for a morning walk or evening run.

The spa is petite but perfectly done in asian motif and the most wonderful hidden pool with sparkling water and hot tea at your beck and call.

Room Tip: Courtyard for super solitude and street side for a city view. You really can't go wrong on eith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

...from start to finish. Discrete but excellent service, great location in an interesting part of downtown Manhatten, very comfortable bed in a tastefully decorated room and beautiful public areas.

Recommended restaurants include Blue Smoke, Red Cat and best of all Little Owl (needs booking weill in advance). Gramercy Tavern remains a favourite but very expensive. Avoid Boulevard like the plague unless you want the stuffiest dining experience on the planet.

Visit Top of the Rock rather than the Empire State Building for the best uncrowded views in the city. You can book your time slot in advance and avoid the queues. Also recommend The Highline for a lovely walk. The World Trade Center site is still a building site but the memorial is genuinely moving and the first of the skyscrapers is complete and looks the part.

Would definitely return to the Greenwich.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I have been to NYC for vacation on 6 occasions. In recent years the intense crowds have been enough for me to retire from visiting the city. Although quite pricey, we decided to try the Greenwich Hotel based on the top notch reviews. We were not disappointed. I saw a quote on the hotel website that states after you stay there you will want to live there. I would have to agree. The property is mellow and the rooms are lovely. Our bed was so comfy and the couch in the room was too. Loved the shower and bath products and all of the included snacks in the room. Staying here was worth the price. Note: Review your folio when you check out. We had lounge charges on our bill that were not ours. I called and the charges were promptly removed.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side. While VERY quiet considering you're in NYC, I would want a cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in New York City
#16 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#18 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#104 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.