We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel I've ever experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greenwich Hotel to your Saves list
Greenwich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013 (TriBeCa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Best hotel I've ever experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Greenwich Hotel and had the most fabulous time. The service was superlative. All the staff were friendly and helpful and no request was a problem. They installed an extra bed in our room for our son, arranged a dinner booking at Locanda Verde (the fabulous hotel restaurant) and went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room and common areas were stylish and comfortable with soft furnishings to aide quiet conversation. The food from Locanda Verde was delicious and possibly the most enjoyable meal of our 2 week stay in Manhattan and we dined extensively!! The swimming pool area was sublime and equipped with a pool attendant to offer towels and herbal tea. I would definitely stay here again when I next return to New York. It is expensive but worth every single cent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    38
    20
    6
    8
See reviews for
42
210
38
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My partner and I have stayed at Greenwich Hotel 3 or 4 times. It's one of the many things we look fwd to when we visit and NYC is one of our favourite places to visit. Greenwich the area is lovely, relatively quiet and suburban-ish, so you can be in the city without being inundated with the hustle and bustle of city life? We like nicking down to Whole Foods nearby for a snack! The Duane Reade pharmacy across the street is great for picking up toothpaste etc, the kind of stuff we tend to forget when we travel. Greenwich Hotel is luxurious but discreet, none of that OTT glitzy stuff, there's an old world charm to the space, the rooms are gorgeous, and the bathrooms too (something I care very much about). They offer awesome body and shower products from Red Flower, and not in those dinky travel sized bottles either, which I really appreciate. There's also a basket of snacks to welcome guests in their room, and these are stocked with interesting American faves, not the usual Pringles in a tube you get in most hotels. The staff are warm and friendly without being obtrusive. The spa is worth a visit with good massages on offer. I don't swim, but if you did, you would probably enjoy the indoor pool, all set within a transplanted Japanese village 'hut' of some sort. Very aesthetically pleasing. Only criticism I have is that I think the breakfast restaurant offerings are a tad on the expensive side, and the range on offer is a little limited for my liking. (I struggle at that restaurant to have something small or light, but most of what's there is a bit heavy or decadent for me as a breakfast option.) But that's just me, overall, I can't complain, as I always look forward to my next visit, which is in a few days.

Room Tip: This isn't a hotel where the choice of rooms matter in terms of view. It's city blocks on ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the kind of hotel that you're always hoping to find: stylish, discrete, luxurious. We stayed for 4 days and I will always stay there again when in Manhattan. The staff were attentive without being false or obsequious. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and easily accommodated an extra bed for our daughter. The food whether in the courtyard or the attached Locanda Verde restaurant was unfailingly excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for Labor Day weekend. It is by far my new favorite hotel in NY. The rooms are beautifully furnished and have tall ceilings. The bed was so comfortable and had crisp new sheets placed on it everyday. The service was great without being too formal. However, the best feature of this hotel is the restaurant. Guests are able to order off the Locanda Verde menu in the drawing room and courtyard. We ate here every day even if it was just for a glass of wine and appetizer. I don't plan on staying anywhere else in NY if I can avoid it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Good sized room with great freebie munchies, big shower room, fabulous bar with a real fire and a wonderfully quiet courtyard garden - ideal for breakfast and late afternoon / early evening drinks.

We had a king bed with amazing bed linen and although the room overlooked the street it was actually very quiet.

We received a $100 credit for the spa and I was able to use this towards a manicure in the room - amazing to be able to organise this without a pre-booking. The hotel front desk concierges were super helpful when I emailed from the UK to pre-book dinner for Saturday evening, recommending a walking tour and suggesting tickets to a baseball game on the Sunday afternoon, bth f which we did and really enjoyed.

Overall we rate the hotel highly and plan to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel was the base for our week's city holiday, it's in a great location with shops and restaurants nearby and the wonderful Battery City Park just a block away. We have three children 16, 14 and 9 and had two interconnecting rooms and everything was ready for us on arrival including, to the children's delight, a huge basket of free goodies which was replenished everyday. The children could hardly believe it. And after years of telling them never to touch anything in a minibar, we were able to tell them to have whatever they liked, apart from the alcohol, as it was all complimentary. Breakfast in the Locanda Verde was exceptional. We had started off in the courtyard but found the service slow and we enjoyed eating in the restaurant much more.
The maid service in the rooms was wonderful, beautiful fresh linen everyday, the best soaps and lotions ever, the decor was fab, it was a real pleasure to be there. Wonderfully quiet at night too.
We headed back to the hotel for a swim at about 5pm everyday and the pool area really is something else. Again, free drinks and snacks on the side, everything you could need in the changing rooms. I did have to shush the children if other guests were around because it is a very 'zen' atmosphere but it was often just us using the pool.
All in all, probably the most pleasant hotel stay I/we have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Really enjoyed my recent stay at The Greenwich, the eclectic decor in the rooms especially the fabulous Moroccan tiled bathroom, the very zen pool and delightful courtyard. Location is a little out of the way but you expect that and the views out to the river are very nice. Given the reviews my expectations really were very high and the only area I felt let the hotel down was some of the staff. Definitely didn't find the front desk staff particularly great, they were not that clear on details such as breakfast times and also when trying to settle the bill. I really did enjoy it though and would like to return if only for the amazingly comfortable bed and pillows!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > TriBeCa , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in New York City
#23 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#23 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#29 Family Hotel in New York City
#185 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith and Odigeo so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.