We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Calm in an overwhelming city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwich Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greenwich Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Greenwich Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 446 hotels in New York City
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Luxury & Calm in an overwhelming city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights in March. The weather had been freezing and a big snowstorm had hit the city. The hotel was cozy, off-beat, cool and very friendly. The subtle smell of cinnamon lingered in the passages. The total feel was comfortable luxury, from the Red Flower bathroom amenities to the drinks and snacks in the room and the morning wake up service and the soft, fluffy towels - oh! and we stayed in one of the smaller rooms ... The breakfast served in the drawing room was always delicious. The gym is well equipped, the restaurant is still regarded as one of the best by New Yorkers (everytime I mentioned where we were staying, New Yorkers commented on the restaurant) and the 24 hour room service very convenient after a late night. Did I mention the DvF wrap dresses worn as uniforms by female staff? Class all around.

Room Tip: Courtyard facing is quiet if you so prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    31
    17
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
171
32
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here for 10 nights in Feb. (work and pleasure) and will definitely be back!

Things I absolutely loved:
--The spa: amazing service and ambiance. A variety of packages for surprisingly fair rates. I highly recommend clearing out a day for a massage/pool relaxation session. From the comfortable chairs to the service to the wooden beams to the lantern-lit pool, this place has it together.
The invisible, well-coordinated staff. This is what I look for in any hotel stay, and this hotel hit it on the mark.
--The old-world decor is relaxing and the antithesis of NYC life.
--The italian restaurant is creative and gorgeous... and rivals some of the Wynn properties I frequent in Vegas, but with maybe a better ambiance. I loved both breakfast and dinner. (Steak tartare and scampi and grits stood out). I generally hate dining in Greenwich/tribeca (east village has better quality, IMHO) the staff recommends, but there's a NOBU/NOBU Next Door nearby... then there's Little Italy!
--The drawing room is gorgeous and great for meetings and last-minute work(food from Locunda? is served here)

The only downside of the visit was... nothing. I personally loved the mattress(not often the case); it felt like heaven! The suites versus standard room(I tried both) are similar in decor and have ample space. I would obviously recommend the former but enjoyed both, even with tons of luggage. Request a bathtub if you love to lounge in gorgeous bathtubs while on holiday; if not, you might only get a room with a shower. I loved my corner suite with a view of the river.

Room Tip: Corner suite with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here the weekend before Sandy hit the East Coast. The hotel was wonderful. We used our AMEX Plat. for the FHR deals which was quite nice. Our room was really beautiful and very well styled. Our bathroom was amazing! The only downside was the mattress...not very comfortable truthfully. We loved that the gourmet snacks/non-alcoholic drinks were included in our room rate. We had drinks in the bar and breakfast in the courtyard both were very nice. The Saturday breakfast was a bit different then the weekday service...we had to send back a couple of items and wait a bit longer even though the place was empty. Our last night we were too tired to go out to dinner anywhere far so we ate at the Italian restaurant in the hotel. The service and food were divine. Loved that we could get in on a Saturday night and enjoy a meal. Unfortunately, we had to leave really early on Sunday due to the storm so checkout was a quick hello goodbye with coffee. I would definitely recommend this spot!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

As I live in the area, I always wanted to try the spa in the Greenwich Hotel in TriBeCa. On the President day, I finally was able to experience this extraordinary space.

Shibui spa is built on the concept of old Japanese house or, "minka". Carefully placed antique furniture create serene but warm atmosphere. After the check-in, I was taken to the women's locker room where everything was designed with the greatest attention. You have an access to hotel pool when you have a spa appointment. If you have a fortune to swim in this amazing azure pool, you would like to stay there forever. It was a great water - not smell like chlorine like any other hotel pools. I swam and relaxed before my massage and it literally got me in the calm mode.

Then, I was greeted by Michiyo and taken to a lower floor. The massage was great since my whole body was so tense due to the stressful city living and she was very attentive. After the massage, I enjoyed the steam shower in the locker room, also very clean. A great finale for the afternoon really was that a pool attendance offered me a hibiscus tea at the pool side. It was the most delicious tea that I ever had - perfectly brewed - and timing for the tea was perfect!

All and all, I truly enjoyed the experience and will definitely go back. No need to go away on vacation, now I know this place - I can always escape from the City in a quick second....

NOTE: I was suggested to avoid the weekend to get the most out of the spa since the weekend can be really crazy with a lot of people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Greenwich Hotel is a home away from home and a wonderful combination of a Zen atmosphere and chic, edgy hotel. Our corner suite was magnificent with every amenity you would need. It felt like our apartment in NYC with a world class spa within steps. The bath was exquisite and decor was relaxed elegance. We love reclaimed and aged European environments so it was just perfect for us. Of course the fact it is new and immaculate was a favored feature. My husband loved the bed, however I agree with some of the other reviews. The linens were sumptuous, but the bed felt flat and uncomfortable to me despite the Duxiana reputation. I am a bit spoiled with a custom organic beyond comfortable bed at home so perhaps my expectations are high. We are foodies and have been fortunate to experience some of the best restaurants in the world. We had very creative, delicious meals at the hotel restaurant and in the private guest area. We just loved the private gathering room for guests only with the roaring fireplace, candles and AMAZING staff. Everyone was so professional, efficient and offered us a cordial welcome. The spa treatment was the BEST we have ever had, which speaks loudly as I have been to some of the premier spas in the world. Valerie was simply outstanding with her treatments. The pool area was so peaceful...loved it all. We have very high standards and strongly felt that this is one of the best hotels, certainly in NYC. We would only stay here...and love the location and being close to the Village. Kudos to the Front Desk staff, room service and housekeeping team as well for delivering such great service. The one glitch which seems to be a common thought in other reviews, points to the training or experience of the bell staff. The team was very friendly and nice, but our departure was not as we would have preferred.
Greenwich Hotel is SUPERB, relaxed, elegant and warm. The staff should be praised for a job well done.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This hotel is one of a kind....having cost me $800 plus for one night (we stayed 4) I would have expected flawless..and indeed this was a .totally flawless experience from the moment of check in..the property and staff are first rate..expect to feel comfortable in a simple room with every lovely touch...Tuscan rough wood... fabulous shower ..TV is not hung on the wall , where it could pretend to be art,..but placed on a table..not at all elegant, but perfect...the bed is the best ever, and I meant to ask where I could buy one if their duvets..I have only slept under them in Europe...
As for staff, they are professional, real, engaging and can make anything happen within 30 seconds...seriously, ANYTHING..love the drawing room and I could go on and on..if you can afford it, STAY HERE.. Have breakfast, eat at the restaurant...you will be in for a treat...(oh, yes, the mini bar Is FREE..for $800 a night!)

Room Tip: I suspect there is no such thing as a BAD Room...you may want one on the patio... We loved the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

While it is expensive, the Greenwich Hotel was great. The pool was peaceful, as was the gym. Spa services great. I loved the lobby and bar room as well. The rooms were not plush...they were quite simple. Snacks were complimentary and refilled! Staff terrific. I left my iPod and some other things in a drawer, and it was found and fed-ex'd to me. Celebrity spottings in the bar area was fun! So many great restaurants to walk to. I recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greenwich Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenwich Hotel

Also Known As:
Greenwich Hotel New York City
Address: 377 Greenwich St., New York City, NY 10013
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#21 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#69 Family Hotel in New York City
#173 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Greenwich Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LHW, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Greenwich Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwich Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.