We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Replaced Chelsea Hampton with Chelsea Wyndham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #185 of 459 Hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Replaced Chelsea Hampton with Chelsea Wyndham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Was not disappointed with my stay at the Wyndham. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The room was well appointed and the pillowtop mattress in my room was so comfy that it was difficult getting off of it. One suggestion I might make would be to offer a free continental breakfast for all guests like the Hampton offers...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    532
    192
    58
    32
See reviews for
220
361
109
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotwire advertised this 'hotel' as a 4-star option. They are sorely mistaken. This is basically a 2 star, possibly 2.5. Very few amenities. The parking not on-site and very expensive in a nearby garage. Desk staff was fairly rude. We got a tiny, handicapped room which barely fit too people. Terrible view of a concrete wall. Lighting was bad. Bathroom amenities were non-existent. The gym was not on-site, although you can go to a nearby gym, but you wouldn't know to plan on that beforehand. I could go on and on but you should get

I would not choose this hotel (or another Wyndham) in the future based on this negative experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Wyndham Garden in Chelsea. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us and the difficulties your experienced during your stay. Please accept our sincerest apologies we did not meet your expectations..

Our indoor and secure parking facility charges $40 for twenty four hours which is on par with similar garages in the immediate vicinity. We also offer bathroom toiletries by Bath & Body Works. Our complimentary day passes to the New York Health and Racquet Club receive rave reviews from our guests. It offers a sauna, steam room, state of the art cardio equipment, personal training, a 50 foot swimming pool, and several more amenities.

I hope you will contact me directly at 212-243-0800 as I would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Hotels can be such a crap-shoot in NYC. We've stayed here three times now, and will assuredly come back. Yeah, rooms are small. But they're clean, neat, and you can't beat the location. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are very quiet, but have NO VIEW! I choose quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your outstanding review of the Wyndham Garden Chelsea Hotel. I am delighted to hear about the service we provide during your three trips to our property. I have shared your positive comments with our staff as we are all delighted to be at your service. I am so pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward to hosting your next visit soon!

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We booked this hotel through hotels.com and were able to get it at almost 50% of the cost of other major hotel chains. The room was clean, comfortable, quite and the staff very friendly. The location was close to where we needed to be for business but it was a $12.00 cab fare to the theater district. All things considered a very good value!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. I am so pleased to hear you found us to be a great value in the Chelsea market. It was a pleasure having you with us and I hope to see you during your future visit with us. Please reach out to me directly so that I may assist with a personalized itinerary.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Let me start by saying we absolutely LOVED our stay here. My only complaint is that I wish we had more time to spend there. The staff and service was absolutely fantastic. The room itself was great and quite large for a hotel in NYC. It's located in the heart of Chelsea, great location for dining and drinking.

When we checked in, we mentioned that we were there for a special event. Raj and Liz were working at the front counter and could not have been nicer. We were upgraded to a suite since they had one available.

The room itself was really great. 2 rooms and a bathroom and balcony. The views were nice and the room just had a really cool feel about it.

Overall, we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. Liz and Raj are integral members of our team and strive to achieve service excellence. I am happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and look forward to sharing your feedback with our team. We are looking forward to being your preferred hotel and welcoming you back in the near future.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I'm always a bit hesitant with hotels in NYC, you really never know what you're going to get. So I was pretty happy when I got to the Wyndham Garden. It was located on more of side street, so not very congested, with a couple restaurants very close by (including Eataly!). The rooms were small, but most rooms in the city are. This one utilized space well, and was very clean. Furniture and carpets were in good shape. Everyone one there, from front desk to housekeeping were very nice and helpful. They offered free wi-fi, which is always a plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea West. I am delighted we exceeded your expectations. We are away from the hustle and bustle yet located centrally enough for visitors to walk to multiple New York City landmarks such as Flatiron Building, Union Square, Herald Square, Empire State Building, and Highline Park. I am glad you enjoyed the nearby restaurants and our amenities. Eataly is also one of our favorites! I will share your kind words with our service ambassadors and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The room was very small but clean (the bed is taking about half room and only a night table on one side of the bed the other is connected to the closet) the forniture is very cheaper and old fashioned.

Anyway the position is excellent to visit NY and the rates are good expecially considering the position

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton Y, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Wyndham Garden Chelsea. I am glad the location and rates were favorable. I am very sorry to hear that our accommodations were a disappointment. I appreciate your comments and will address your concerns with our management and team. Please contact me directly at 212-243-0800 so that I may ensure your satisfaction during your next visit.

Carlton Yee
General Manager
Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan Chelsea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West

Address: 37 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#120 Business Hotel in New York City
#164 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#177 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi. Wyndham Garden Chelsea is located in Chelsea/Flatiron District. Chelsea is filled with chic art galleries, bars & clubs, world-famous restaurants, shopping and more. Guests are within walking distance to world-famous Manhattan attractions such as Madison Square Garden, Times Square, Macy's/Herald Square, Empire State Building, Union Square and NYU. The hotel is one block from New York City's subway system. The surrounding neighborhoods include Greenwich Village, Midtown and Gramercy.All rooms are smoke-free and include; MP3 & iPod connections, flat panel televisions, cordless phones, Wolfgang Puck in-room coffee and Herman Miler ergonomic desk chairs. Additionally, the hotel offers complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel Manhattan, Chelsea West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.